Need Help?
Welcome!
This is a guide to selected sources of information related to literature in special education available at URI and online. To find additional information, conduct a subject search in the Library Catalog below using Library of Congress subject headings such as early childhood education, homebound instruction, education United States, educators, or international education.
Similar searches in Article Databases such as Education Full Text (EBSCOhost), ERIC, JSTOR, Project MUSE, Web of Science, or Teacher Reference Center will locate articles.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Article Databases
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and abstracts of journals and other materials in education. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1966 - Present.
- ERIC (AccessERIC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Main site of the Educational Resources Information Center. Provides information on ERIC products, services, contacts, and Clearinghouses. Users should note that ERIC Digests, offered on this site, are NOT the same as ERIC Documents.
- What dates are covered? 1966 - Present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides citations and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
- APA PsycArticles (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Database of full text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. Covers the full spectrum of research in the field. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1894 - Present.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1597 - Present.
Created/Revised:
Created by Mona Anne Niedbala, 2010
Revised by Mona Anne Niedbala, 2013