This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Finding Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Articles   Tags: library_information, writing  

This guide will lead you through the steps for finding articles.
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2013 URL: http://uri.libguides.com/periodicalsteps Print Guide RSS Updates
Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference & Research Help

Five Ways to Get Research Help

Spring Semester 2014


Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk

Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Call Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

(401) 874-2653


Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

URILibrarian
AOL Instant Messenger (AIM)
or Click Here to Start


Text Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)

265010
Start your message with URILibrarian:
For example, URILibrarian:Your message here.


Email Us
(After Regular Hours)

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)

 

Finding Articles

Identifying and locating articles on your topic is a simple 3-step process. If you are looking for a specific article, skip to step 4.


1. Choose a Reference Database
  • Reference Databases are indexes of articles in a certain subject area. You can search for articles by subject, title, and/or author.
  • To identify the best database for your need, click on a relevant category and review the database descriptions or see the librarians’ recommendations in the Subject Guides.
Tip: Be sure to activate your URI ID at the library Circulation Desk so you can use the databases off-campus.

2. Search the Database
  • Decide what type of article – scholarly or popular – you need.
  • Use significant keywords or subject terms to describe your topic when searching.
  • Scan your results to identify citations that seem relevant or interesting.

3. Get the article(s).
Be aware that articles come from various library resources. You may need to:
  • Search in the HELIN catalog for the journal title to see if the Library subscribes to this journal – either in print or electronically.
  • Follow the links from the citation to the full-text online article.
4. Already have a citation for a specific article?
  • To see if the Library subscribes to the journal electronically, use the Citation Linker.
  • Search in the HELIN catalog for the journal title to see if the Library subscribes to this journal in print.

Why should I use articles?
  • Articles are a great source of highly specific information for your research.
  • Articles can provide the most recent information available.
  • Articles are an excellent source of historical information.
  • Articles are available from many different types of publications: scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, chapters in books, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journals, etc.
 

Citations

What are citations and why should I care?
Citations are short notations that identify a published work. They are found in bibliographies, lists of references, and in databases. They contain all the information you need to identify and track down articles.

Here’s an example of an article citation in MLA format:
Snyder, C. R., and H. S. Shorey. “Hope and Academic Success in College.” Journal of Educational Psychology 94.4 (2002): 820-26.

And the breakdown:
Author's name(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Periodical That Contains Article volume and issue number (year published): page numbers.

Additional information will be required if article is in electronic format. See style guides for detailed instructions.

  

How do I cite articles correctly?
There are many different citation styles; check with your instructor about which citation style to use. Style guides are available at the Library’s Info & Research Help Desk. Limited versions of these guides are also available online, including:

 

Wikipedia & Google Scholar

Why not use Wikipedia?
"Wikipedia can be a great tool for learning and researching information. However, like all sources, not everything in Wikipedia is accurate, comprehensive, or unbiased. Many of the general rules of thumb for conducting research apply to Wikipedia, including:

  • Always be wary of any one single source (in any medium–web, print, television or radio), or of multiple works that derive from a single source.
  • Where articles have references to external sources (whether online or not) read the references and check whether they really do support what the article says.
  • In all academic institutions, Wikipedia, along with most encyclopedias, is unacceptable as a major source for a research paper."

Wikipedia:Researching with Wikipedia. 20 Feb 2009 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Researching_with_Wikipedia
 

Google Scholar
We've included a link to the search tool, Google Scholar. While it is possible to find quality information, including articles, using Google Scholar, please remember:

  • The Reference Databases available through the University Library's subscriptions are more comprehensive search tools and can provide better, more specific results than Google Scholar. Learn more about Google Scholar.
  • Google Scholar often provides appropriate citations but cannot always provide the full-text articles. You may even be asked to pay for an article. Use this guide to find which articles are available through the University Library at no cost to you. Use Interlibrary Loan to request any articles not available at the Library. Search Google Scholar.

 

 

For Assistance

If you need further assistance, please stop by the Info & Research Help Desk, use our live chat service, or call (401) 874-2653.

Need help?

Profile Image
URI Librarian

Click on the green arrow to open the chat in a new window. If we're not online, please email us at urilibrarian@gmail.com. Please allow 1-2 business days for a response.

Contact Info
Kingston: (401) 874-2653
Providence: (401) 277-5130
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Send Email
 

Created and Revised By

Created by
M. MacDonald, 7/98

Revised by
K. Cheromcha & M. MacDonald, 3/08
M. MacDonald, 9/09

A. Izenstark & M. MacDonald, 7/13

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip