Skip to main content
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Visit us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(After Regular Hours)
(Please allow 2-3 business days for a response)
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
This guide provides reference sources for research in Art History.
The general works and databases listed below include the catalog and encyclopedias for background information as well as indexes to images and periodical articles. The tabs above will link to resources organized by time periods.
Art Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Besides art and art history, topics include advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture, fashion, interior design, textiles, and more. Also indexed are reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. 1984-. Updated daily.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (EBSCOhost)
Indexing of art publications, including magazines, journals, museum bulletins, and reproductions. Covers fine, decorative, and commercial art. 1929-1984.
Search or browse over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online)
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to the present day. Includes images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Updated regularly. 1 simultaneous user.
Includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Authoritative research guides to the current scholarship across a wide variety of subject areas, written and reviewed by academic experts. URI offers access to the following bibliographies: African American Studies; Criminology; International Relations; Islamic Studies; Medieval Studies; and Renaissance and Reformation.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape (Adam Matthew)
Digitized archival collection from the Wordsworth Trust comprised of William Wordsworth’s original verse manuscripts, working notebooks and some printed, annotated, editions. Other types of material include scrapbooks, autograph books, letters, diaries, travel journals, financial records and receipts, and verse manuscripts by other Romantic writers including Samuel Taylor Coleridge and Thomas de Quincey. Supplementing the manuscript collection, this resource also includes full-color digital images of over two thousand fine art pieces.
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
Victorian Popular Culture (Adam Matthew)
Victorian Popular Culture contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, sourced from multiple libraries. The collection is composed of four thematic sections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.
URI Libraries Search
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
General Works in Print
The Grove Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Ref. N31 .D5 1996
Considered the new standard encyclopedia for the study of art and art history.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: Ref. N31 .E533
14 v. plus index vol. and supps. 1959-83
A standard art encyclopedia. Use the general index, volume 15, to find
all the material on a topic. Long, signed articles containing comprehensive bibliographies. Well-illustrated. The supplement volumes bring it up to date.
Selected Internet Resources
Created & revised by
J. Kinnie, 10/09, 8/10
rev. M. Boldt, 4/13; J Kinnie, 7/18
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.