Skip to main content
The U.S. Census
Provides links to all major data produced by the Census Bureau since 1990. Includes demographic, social, and economic data at the federal, state and local levels.
Official government source for a broad range of social, demographic, business, and economic statistics. Historical data can be found under the "Publications" links on the Census homepage.
This is the page that allows you to extract data from the Census. You can access a Fact Sheet for a given community or follow the Data Sets link on the left to view the summary files.
American Community Survey
Allows you to download PUMs (Public Use Microdata). This tool is helpful for advanced users who want to create their own tabulations.
U.S. Geographic Summary Data and Boundary Files
Access to population, housing, economic, and agricultural data for U.S. geographic units from 1790 to the present.
Online Statistical Sources
This gateway to government information includes links to statistical data at the federal, state, and local level. Links are arranged by topic. A "Facts for You" links to statistical data based on geography. The search engine allows searching by keyword and will bring up general web sites that may contained desired data but will not produce results for individual statistical tables.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web." Older print editions of the abstract are available through the catalog. Electronic version of the Statistical Abstract of the United States. All files in Adobe Acrobat
format. -2012. For newer editions, see Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
U.S. Data and Statistics
A subset of USA.gov, provides a list along with links of data producing federal and state agencies. Also includes links to government sites that provide data maps.
Print and Retrospective Resources
These sources are avilable in print at the URI Library.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013
Call Number: URI Ref Desk Glass Case HA202 U5 2009
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
Library Has 1886-Present (missing 1890, 1891, 1903, 1905)
This useful resource is "the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." It is the standard reference work on U.S. statistics. Each section presents a brief description of a given topic (ex. health and nutrition, or education) and then presents several data tables with important statistics.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to Present
Call Number: URI Ref. HA202 H57 2006 (5 vols.)
This five volume resource presents a wide array of historical statistics, though it is focused in the twentieth centory. The volumes are entitled Population Work and Welfare, Economic Structure and Performance, Economic Sectors, and Governance and International Relations. Each chapter begins with an in depth explanation of the topic and then provides tables of statistics.
American Statistics Index
Call Number: URI Govt Pub Index Z7554 U5 A46
Library Has 1974-2006
This helpful work is the comprehensive guide to statistics published by the United States government. It is compiled on a yearly basis and provides entries on diverse topics such as agricultural policy, educational finance, law enforcement, telecommunications, and others while indexing data published by hundreds of executive, legislative, or judicial sources. This source is also really useful because it covers every type of statistical publication (periodicals, series, special reports, annuals and biennials, etc.) regardless of whether issued by the Government Printing Office or an individual agency.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.