Need Help?
Finding Publicly Available & Free Resources
Many of the resources collected on this guide require an affiliation with URI or use of a public computer within the URI Libraries. You can always check access restrictions for recommended resources by looking at the icon next to each link. The little green "A" icon to identifies resources that are accessible.
- Free Resource: All Can Access
- URI Only (must be a URI student, faculty, or staff member to access)
You can also check out the recommendations on this page for additional resources you can access without a logon restriction!
To browse for open access, freely available scholarly material on your topic, check out the Directory of Open Access Journals linked below!
-
Directory of Open Access JournalsAn index of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals covering a range of disciplines.
Nutrient Resources
-
Food Composition ResourcesLook here to find information about the nutrients and compounds in food (e.g., macronutrients, micronutrients, phytonutrients, sweeteners) and browse food composition databases, nutrient functions, and commodity foods.
-
Vitamin and Mineral Nutrition Information System (VMNIS)"The VMNIS has four main components: 1) The Micronutrients database; 2) Summaries of biochemical indicators for assessing the prevalence of various vitamin and mineral deficiencies in populations; 3) Surveillance tools; 3) Global laboratory directory for the assessment of micronutrient status."
-
Nutrient Data LaboratoryAn authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods and dietary supplements available in the United States.
-
The Nutrition Source - HarvardThe Nutrition Source, based at the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health’s Department of Nutrition, is the leading authority on science-based food and nutrition knowledge. It provides articles , FAQs, recipes, tools, and guidance for healthy living through good nutrition.
Organizations
-
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)AND is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. It offers a broad variety of information on essential nutrients, health conditions, meal planning and prep choices, and fitness strategies to prevent or manage health conditions.
-
Association of Nutrition and Food Service ProfessionalsThis national not-for-profit association is dedicated to the practice of providing optimum nutritional care through foodservice management.
-
Society for Nutrition Education and BehaviorThis society represents nutrition educators worldwide through promotion of nutrition education and healthy behavior through research, policy, and practice to support healthy communities and food systems.
-
American Society for Nutrition (ASN)ASN is dedicated to promoting areas of nutrition, science-based information and practice, education, professional development, science policy and advocacy.
-
Nutrition.govNutrition.gov provides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
Providing science-based dietary guidance is critical to enhance the public's ability to make healthy choices in the effort to reduce obesity and other food related diseases. Since dietary needs change throughout the lifespan, specialized nutrition information is provided about infants, children, teens, adult women and men, and seniors. (From the website). -
Nutrition and Your Health: Dietary Guidelines for AmericansNutritional and health links from the Consumer Information Center. Print edition can be ordered. Links to federal resources.
-
World Heath Organization NutritionFocused upon advocating for global, evidence-based nutrition priorities and policy. Includes guidance to support effective implementation of nutrition related policy and programs.
Nutrition Department Publications
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
-
Association between Dietary Magnesium Intake and Glycemic Markers in Ghanaian Women of Reproductive Age: A Pilot Cross-Sectional StudyAuthors: Helena J. Bentil, Alyssa M. Abreu, Seth Adu-Afarwuah, Joseph S. Rossi, Alison Tovar, Brietta M. Oaks 2021
-
Contributions of Food Environments to Dietary Quality and Cardiovascular Disease RiskAuthors: Maya K. Vadiveloo, Mercedes Sotos-Prieto, Haley W. Parker, Qisi Yao, Anne N. Thorndike 2021
-
Diet quality of vegetarian diets compared with nonvegetarian diets: A systematic reviewAuthors: Haley W. Parker, Maya K. Vadiveloo 2019
-
Evaluating the effect of individually-targeted food incentives on grocery purchases: The smart cart study protocol for a randomized controlled cross-over trialAuthors: Maya K. Vadiveloo, Xintong Guan, Haley W. Parker, Elie Perraud, Ashley Buchanan, Stephen Atlas, Anne N. Thorndike 2020
-
Maternal Stress and Excessive Weight Gain in InfancyAuthors: Katelyn Fox, Maya Vadiveloo, Karen McCurdy, Sara E. Benjamin-Neelon, Truls Østbye, Alison Tovar 2022
-
Processing level and diet quality of the US grocery cart: Is there an association?Authors: Filippa Juul, Bárbara Dos Santos Simões, Jacqueline Litvak, Euridice Martinez-Steele, Andrea Deierlein, Maya Vadiveloo, Niyati Parekh 2019
-
Quantifying the effect of market information on demand for genetically modified salmonAuthors: Michael J. Weir, Hirotsugu Uchida, Maya Vadiveloo 2021
-
Rapid Diet Assessment Screening Tools for Cardiovascular Disease Risk Reduction across Healthcare Settings: A Scientific Statement from the American Heart AssociationAuthors: Maya Vadiveloo, Alice H. Lichtenstein, Cheryl Anderson, Karen Aspry, Randi Foraker, Skylar Griggs, Laura L. Hayman, Emily Johnston,
Neil J. Stone, Anne N. Thorndike 2020 -
The relationship of physical activity and dietary quality and diabetes prevalence in US adults: Findings from NHANES 2011-2018Authors: Furong Xu, Jacob Earp, Alessandra Adami, Lee Weidauer, Geoffrey W. Greene 2022
-
The utility of household Grocery Purchase Quality Index scores as an individual diet quality metricAuthors: Haley Wynne Parker, Carolina De Araujo, Anne N. Thorndike, Maya K. Vadiveloo 2021
Credits
Updated by Robin Devin & Jim Kinnie, 5/01; Larry Kelland, 9/02; James Austin, 07/10; Anthony Loffredio, 5/13; Lauren Morrissette, 6/18; Linda Gatewood, 6/25