Need Help?
Introduction
This guide lists databases, websites, and more resources for nutrition and dietetics.
To find books and ebooks, conduct a Subject search in the library catalog using subject headings such as nutrition research or nutrition children United States.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to sources in traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology.
- What dates are covered? 1969-present
- FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA) provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with all human food commodities and food processing (except for the production of raw food). Topics covered include microbiology, toxicology and hygiene, economics and statistics, engineering, packaging, and many food products. FSTA indexes articles, patents, standards, books, conference proceedings, research reports, dissertations, and legislation. Updated weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1969 - Present
- PubMed (linked to URI holdings) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1947 - Present.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service, CAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Getting started: You must be a URI student, staff, or faculty member with a valid email address ending in "uri.edu" to use this database. You will need to go to the CAS registration site from a URI computer and set up an account with CAS. Successful registration results in an email with a link that you must click to finish registration.
- What’s included? Citations to 1,600 key chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals and selectively cites to 8,000 more, plus conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and other materials. Also contains information on chemical substances and reactions, regulations, and chemical suppliers. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1907 - Present.
Created and Revised by
Robin Devin & Jim Kinnie rev. 5/01; Larry Kelland rev. 9/02; James Austin 07/10; Anthony Loffredio rev. 5/13; Lauren Morrissette updated 6/18