Web Sites and Citation Tools
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Web-based citation manager. Import citations from databases to create your own personal collection. Automatically format your papers and bibliographies in any of almost 150 formats (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, CBE, etc.).
- MendeleyMendeley offers citation management, PDF annotation, and the opportunity to network with researchers. Desktop app installation adds to functionality. Also has an iPhone/iPad app.
- APA Formatting and Style GuideAPA guide from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University. Based on the 6th edition.
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideMLA guide from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University. Based on the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
- Avoiding PlagiarismPart of Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab, this source covers the difficult balance between building on prior research and originality that students must reach when writing research papers. Gives instances of when credit is due and when it’s not needed. Clearly defines “common knowledge” and includes a section for writers entitled “Making Sure You are Safe.”
- ZoteroFree citation manager that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. Offers major citation formats including MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, and many more.
Databases
Searching for Plagiarism, Cheating, or Academic Honesty in Reference Databases such as Academic Search Complete and ERIC will locate articles.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and abstracts of journals and other materials in education, including teacher education, testing, measurement, and evaluation. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1966 - Present.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.