Skip to main content
The sources below will help you locate information about U.S. Government Organization. Many of the sources can be found in full online. Some sources, however, are only available in print or are easier to use in that format. Whenever possible, links are provided to both the online and print versions of a given source.
Government Departments and Agencies
Provides links to government agencies at the federal, state, local, tribal, and international level. Includes alphabetical index of links.
Provides links to government agencies at the federal, state, local and international level. Can search by agency or by topic. Home screen also includes links to government sites by frequently asked questions (under "You Asked For It").
U.S. Government Organization: Online Sources
Provides links to the Web sites of all federal courts. Searches are done by first selecting the appropriate circuit where a court is located on a map and then selecting the desired court from the resulting list. Most sites include a directory of judges and court officials.
Official Congressional Directory
Biennial. Lists names, addresses, telephone numbers, Web address, committee assignments and short biographies of all members of Congress. Another section includes information on top officials in the Executive and Judicial Branches. Access by detailed table of contents and name index. Online version may be searched by name, Congressional committee, or Congressional district.
Past editions available in print in URI Library serial stacks under the call number JK 1011.
United States Government Manual
Annual. Covers all federal agencies including quasi-official agencies and commissions. Each entry includes address, telephone number, names of top officials, statutory history, organization, and a brief description of duties. List of abolished agencies included. Indexed by agency, name and subject. Online version may be searched by keyword, agency, or name of official. You can browse older editions of the Manual at this site as well.
U.S. Government Organization: Print Sources
Congressional Staff Directory
Call Number: URI Ref JK1012 C65 2009
Lists all members of Congress and their staff members. Includes basic information, committee assignments, and a short biography of each member of Congress. For each staff person includes telephone number, e-mail address, subject assignment, and a short biography. Section on committees covers organization, membership and names of staff persons. Indexed by subject and name.
Older versions are available in the serial stacks on the lower level of the URI Library under the same call number.
These sources are avilable in print in the Reference
Section of the URI Library.
Historical Guide to the U.S. Government
Call Number: URI Ref JK9 H57 1998
Historical profiles of government agencies include duties, accomplishments and organizational structure past and present. Bibliography for most entries. Appendix includes documents governing public administration. Indexed by subject and name.
Organization of Federal Executive Departments and Agencies
Call Number: URI Govt Pub Y 4.G 74/9-10:
Annual. Chart of organization of the executive branch of government. Includes breakdowns of the number of employees for each agency and department. Supplemental booklet lists agencies created, abolished or modified during the past year.
Washington Information Directory
Call Number: URI Ref F192.3 W33
Annual. Lists by subject sources of government information that can be found in Washington, D.C. Includes both public and private sources. Each entry includes name, address, telephone number, e-mail, Web address, and a short description of the information provided. Index by agency, name and subject.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.