Skip to main content
The sources below will help you locate information about State Government Organization. Much up-to-date information about specific state government can be found on individual state's web sites. The print resources below, while slightly dated, may be helpful for researchers looking for historical infomation. The electronic resources will prove more helpful if you seek current information.
State and Local Government: Online Sources
State and Local Government on the Net
Provides access to all state and local government Web sites. Alphabetical arrangement by state lists all of the Web sites within a state. Topic pages list Web sites across all jurisdictions on a number of popular topic, including lists of officials. Links to several multi-state organizations are also given.
State and Local Government: Print Sources
These sources, while slightly dated, may prove useful if you are looking for historical information about state governments, their officials, or their organizational structure.
Municipal Year Book 2012
Call Number: URI Ref JS342 .A5 I52
Publication Date: 2012-04-15
Annual. Earlier versions can be found under the same call number in the serial stacks.
Lists name and telephone number of major officials for U.S. cities, towns, and counties. Also includes comparative tables and essays on current issues affecting local government. Subject index is cumulative for previous 5 years.
The Book of the States
Call Number: URI Ref JK2403 .B62
Annual. Latest version in the reference collection is 2008. Earlier versions can be found under the same call number in the serial stacks.
Lists top officials of each state. Also includes comparative tables showing government organization and structure for executive, legislative, and judicial branches. Indexed by subject.
State Yellow Book
Call Number: URI Serial Stacks JK2403 .S77
Lists names, addresses, and telephone numbers of all state agencies in the executive branch of the 50 states. Also includes names and telephone numbers of members of the 50 state legislatures. Indexed by subject, agency and individual.
Rhode Island Government: Online Sources
“Centralized electronic portal through which individuals and businesses will easily access Rhode Island government information and services from multiple agencies.” Offers a directory of Rhode Island Web sites, a variety of information about living in, working in, and visiting the state, Rhode Island facts and history, real-time answers to questions, and more.
Rhode Island Governing Agencies A-Z
An alphabetical index of all R.I. state agencies and their web sites.
RI Office of the Secretary of State
Lists state officials and agencies which can be searched by agency name or topic. A separate search engine searches for state legislators and Congressional delegation by voter street address. Site also includes direct links to frequently used state sites and city and town sites.
Rhode Island Government: Print Sources
Rhode Island Government Owner' Manual
Call Number: URI State Pub Reference 39-S82 4:G68
Biennial. Lists all state and local elected officials and state agencies. Gives name, address, telephone, e-mail address, and a short biography for each entry on the officials. Each entry on state agencies includes contact persons, Web address, budget, agency powers and duties. Indexed by subject and name. Pre-1996 editions under variant titles, check catalog record.
Rhode Island Almanac
Call Number: URI Serial Stacks AY67 P9 J7
Compendium of information on Rhode Island published by the Providence Journal-Bulletin. Includes names, addresses, telephone numbers, and names of top officials of all Rhode Island state agencies and city and town offices. Indexed by subject and agency name. Pre-1973 editions under variant titles.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.