Need Help?
Print Resources
-
A Guide to Critical Reviews
by
Call Number: URI Ref. Z5782 .S342 v.4 Parts 1-2ISBN: 0810816903Publication Date: 1984-06-28Both volumes are alphabetically arranged by film title and cover 1927-1963 or, The Jazz Singer thru Dr. Strangelove. Volume 1 covers A-J and Volume 2 covers K-Z. -
A guide to critical reviews, part IV, the screenplay, supplement one, 1963 to 1980
by
Call Number: Ref Z5782 S3422 Suppl.1ISBN: 0810815532Index of references to critical reviews released in newspapers and magazines. Covers films released from Oct. 1927 through 1963. Both volumes are alphabetically arranged by film title. Reviews after 1963 continues with Supplement One.
-
Index to Critical Film Reviews in British and American Film Periodicals, Together with: Index to Critical Reviews of Books about Film, 1930-1972.
by
Call Number: URI Ref Z5784 M9 B64ISBN: 0833745963Volume 1 covers A-M. Volumes 2-3 cover N-Z. Consult the "Bibliographic Abbreviations" and "Periodicals Abbreviations" pages at the front of each volume.
The first three entries in these box are print indexes. Use the indexes to look up the name of your film. The index will point you to several reviews on the film that were published in other journals or magazines. You will have to record the citation from the print index, and then search for the name of the journal or magazine in the catalog. Using print indexes can be difficult at first. If you need help using these indexes please don't hesitate to stop by the Info & Research Help Desk to get assistance from a librarian.
These sources cover films released between 1927 and 1990. For reviews of films released after 1990 you should refer to the Internet Resources page.
-
Variety Film Reviews
by
Call Number: URI Ref. PN1993 .V36 v.1(1907/1920), v.20(1987/1988)-v.21(1989/1990)ISBN: 08974373These three volumes contain republished film reviews arranged by month date and year as they appeared in Variety magazine.