Need Help?
Additional Search Tools
Below is a selected list of specialized freely-available search tools that may help you locate more information.
Google Enhanced
Google itself offers a number of search tools and enhancements beyond Books, News, Scholar, etc. It also offers versions for different countries and in different languages. If you know the top level domain of a country (for example, .au for Australia, .uk for the United Kingdom, and so on), you may be able to locate the version of Google for that location.
-
Google Dataset SearchProvides "a single interface that allows ... search[ing] across multiple repositories..." Includes materials from figshare, DataCite, Dryad Digital Repository, Data.gov, and more.
-
Google News Archive SearchBrowse the list of newspapers in Google's archive, and search for articles. Please note that Google is no longer adding materials to their archive, and materials may disappear.
-
Google Public Data ExplorerThis tool creates visual representations of public data from US, European, and other international sources. For more information, click on the "Datasets" link on the left side of the main page.
-
Google EspañaGoogle for users in Spain. Like other country variations, it focuses on web sites in the country's language.
Protect Your Privacy
-
StartPageGet Google results, but through a privacy-protecting layer.
Other General Search Tools
-
Internet Archive Wayback MachineInsert a URL and see what a particular web page previously looked like. Good resource for finding content from pages that no longer exist.
-
Kagi Search - A Premium Search EngineThis search tool is funded by subscriptions, not ad placement.
-
MillionShortSearch engine that allows you to remove up to the top million websites from its search, returning results that would otherwise be buried.
-
Wolfram|AlphaA computational search engine that generates answers to factual queries using data sets.
Find Visuals
-
Openverse (formerly Creative Commons Search)Looking for items you can re-use in an educational setting for free? The Openverse image search tool can help.
-
Google ImagesAnother Google product, Google Images offers image searching features that allow for selections by color, licensing agreements, and size specifications.
-
TinEyeA reverse image search engine; upload an image or enter an image URL to identify it or find similar images.
Explore Breaking News & Trends
-
Google TrendsSee what the hottest searches on Google are right now. Updates hourly.
Find Data and Numbers
-
Google Dataset SearchProvides "a single interface that allows ... search[ing] across multiple repositories..." Includes materials from figshare, DataCite, Dryad Digital Repository, Data.gov, and more.
-
figshareSearch for videos, slides, datasets, posters, presentations, and more, submitted by researchers from around the world.
-
Wolfram|AlphaA computational search engine that generates answers to factual queries using data sets.
-
Dimensions"Dimensions covers millions of research publications connected by more than 1.7 billion citations, supporting grants, datasets, clinical trials, patents and policy documents."
Find Scholarly Sources
-
ArXiv.orgOpen-access archive of more than 1.5 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
-
OpenAlex"An open and comprehensive catalog of scholarly papers, authors, institutions, and more." Nonprofit open-source scholarly search tool.
-
OSF PreprintsPreprint repository from the Open Science Framework. Covers a variety of disciplines, not just science.
-
PaperityMultidisciplinary open access article search engine. Publishers and journals pay a small fee to be indexed.
-
Social Science Research NetworkThe SSRN is an organization dedicated to the broad disemmination of social science research material. They maintain a database of abstracts of current and forthcoming research papers, and an Electronic Paper Collection of full text articles by current scholars. Organization is by individual subfield within the social sciences.
Locate Open Educational Resources
-
Openverse (formerly Creative Commons Search)Looking for items you can re-use in an educational setting for free? The Openverse image search tool can help.
-
MERLOT IIFind educational materials created by academics around the world, reviewed and curated by a network of academics. Sponsored by the California State University.