Need Help?
Advanced Research
In addition to doing a literature search for articles and books, you might want to use these advanced research sources.
Dissertation literature: Doctoral dissertations cover research that's not published elsewhere and so are on the cutting edge. However the Library only owns those written by URI students. If there is one that you need but the Library doesn't own it, it may be available through the "Open Dissertations" database or we may be able to obtain it through interlibrary loan.
Citation analysis: One way to determine the quality of research in a scholarly article is how many times it's cited by other researchers.
Journal impact factor: Similarly a quick way to determine the quality of a journal and the articles it publishes is to find out how much of an impact a journal has in its field.
Listed below are the databases that cover these techniques.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 2.7 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
- OpenDissertations (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Provides citations and links to graduate research.
- What dates are covered? The early 20th century to the present.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
