Need Help?
Finding articles
-
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service, CAS) This link opens in a new window
- Getting started: You must be a URI student, staff, or faculty member with a valid email address ending in "uri.edu" to use this database. You will need to go to the CAS registration site from a URI computer and set up an account with CAS. Successful registration results in an email with a link that you must click to finish registration. (You may also need to enter a verification code to authenticate before proceeding.)
- What’s included? Citations to 1,600 key chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals and selectively cites to 8,000 more, plus conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and other materials. Also contains information on chemical substances and reactions, regulations, and chemical suppliers. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1907 - Present.
-
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1884 - Present. Updated weekly.
- What else should I know? Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1884 - Present. Updated weekly.
-
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
-
Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
- Learn more about how to use Web of Science.
