Need Help?
Introduction
To find additional information, conduct a Subject search in the catalog using subject headings such as Language Disorders, Speech Disorders, Speech Therapy, Audiology, Audiometry, or Hearing. Subheadings such as DIAGNOSIS will narrow the search. (Example: Language Disorders - Diagnosis.)
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Getting Started - Journal Articles
- ComDisDome (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
- What dates are covered? 1950- , with some coverage back to 1911. Updated monthly.
Getting Started - On the Web
- American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).
- This link opens in a new window
Official Website of ASHA, the organization that oversees certification and licensure for audiologists and speech-language pathologists, provides well-organized, current information directed to three distinct audiences: professionals, the public, and students. - Net Connections for Communication Disorders and Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for the new student as well as the professional, this site includes links to discussion forums, electronic publications, commercial products and related businesses. It offers a comprehensive gateway of links ranging from stuttering, hearing loss prevention, dual disabilities, semantics, prosody, and child language development. - National Institute on Deafness and other Communication Disorders
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on hearing and balance, smell and taste, and voice speech and language. Includes a glossary, a searchable directory of organizations, and a searchable database of clinical trials and studies. Access to Spanish-language publications.
Getting Started - In Print
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders by
Call Number: URI Reference RC423 M56 2004ISBN: 0262112787Offers almost 200 detailed entries covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis. It is divided into four sections that reflect the standard categories within the field: Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing.
Created and revised by
N. Krasilovsky 5/01; rev. Robin Devin 1/03; Robin Devin & Rebecca Troy-Horton, 8/05; James Austin, & Robin Devin, 6/10; Madge Boldt 10/13.