Need Help?
Primary Resources & Historic Periodicals
Primary sources are original materials that have not been filtered through interpretation, evaluation, or condensation by a second party. Some primary sources include the art of the period, portraits, museum collections, newspapers, films, photographs, catalogs, and advertisements.
The University Libraries maintain periodical collections in print, microform and electronic formats. To find library holdings of periodicals in fashion and costume, conduct an LC Subject search using the terms "Fashion--Periodicals" or "Costume--Periodicals." You can refine your search by selecting Journals/Magazines/Newspapers from the pull-down menu.
The following resources are examples of those periodicals found within the collection that may provide valuable information for primary source research:
- Godey's magazine1892 - 1898, available in URI Microform Area/Sect.3
- Harper's bazaarIncomplete holdings from 1867 - 1913 and 1938 - 1974 are available in Serial Stacks TT500 H3. Also available in microfilm are 1867 - 1913 and 1975 - 2004.
- Women's Wear Daily (WWD)Available electronically from 12-29-00 to present in ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry database. Also available on microfilm from 1970 - 2002 in Microform Area/Section 1.
- Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? High resolution images of the entire run of Vogue.
- What dates are covered? From 1892 to present.
Special Collections
- University of Rhode Island Commercial Pattern ArchiveUnique source comprised of three collections of commercial dressmaker patterns: the Betty Williams Collection, the URI Theatre Department Collection, and the Joy Emery Collection in the Special Collections unit of the Library. Electronic database available only in Special Collections. Provides multiple indexing points as well as a scanned image of the pattern. Also includes a large number of fashion periodicals and trade catalogs.
- Historic Textile and Costume CollectionThe URI Historic Textile and Costume Collection, located in Quinn Hall, contains almost 20,000 objects, including both costumes and textiles from all over the world. Images and descriptions of selected artifacts from the Collection are featured in an online catalog, accessible from the web site.