Need Help?
Civil Engineering Reference Books
You can search for resources in the catalog using the keyword "civil engineering" and other technical terms, or you can browse through the shelves of the Reference Collection. Civil engineering books will be filed under TA in both the reference stacks on the first floor and the regular stacks on the second level of the library.
These are some examples of civil engineering books from the reference section.
Bridge engineering handbook 5th ed. 2000 by
Call Number: URI Ref TG145 B85 2000ISBN: 0849374340Short articles on all aspects of bridge construction.
Civil Engineer's Illustrated Sourcebook by Call Number: URI Ref TA151 P33 2003ISBN: 0071376070Publication Date: 2003Contains charts, schematics, and plans used in existing projects.
Earthquake Engineering Handbook by Call Number: URI Ref TA654.6 E374 2003ISBN: 0849300681Publication Date: 2003Contains a discussion of the history of earthquakes and structures, geoscience concepts, building codes, designs, formulas, and case studies of collapses and how they occurred.Eshbach's handbook of engineering fundamentals by
Call Number: URI Reference TA151 E8 2009ISBN: 9780470085783Little explanation, but large numbers of physical data tables, lists of symbols and standard units, and brief definitions of terms. Very little on industry or manufacturing.
Flow Measurement Handbook by Call Number: URI Reference TA357.5.M43 B35 2000ISBN: 0521480108Publication Date: 2000Includes information on industrial designs, operating principles, performance and applications. Includes nomenclature index organized by chapter, index, references, and selection of national standards.Handbook of civil engineering calculations by
Call Number: URI Ref TA332 H36 2000ISBN: 0070288143Comprehensive step-by-step guide to calculations common in structural design.
Manual of Construction Project Management by Call Number: URI Reference TH438 .S8879 2011ISBN: 9780470658246Publication Date: 2011Includes information on preparation stage, procurement stage, design stage, construction preparation stage, construction stage, and take-over stage. Appendices include list of construction client's principal decisions and list of document folders that should be completed during project development.
Practical Manual of Land Development by Call Number: URI Ref TA151 C65 2005ISBN: 0071448667Publication Date: 2005Contains layouts and planning resources for designing a wide variety of buildings and communities.
Risk and Reliability Analysis : a handbook for civil and environmental engineers by Call Number: URI Ref TA190 S594 2007ISBN: 0784408912Publication Date: 2007Explains the various types of risk and the underlying mathematics; discusses various concepts of risk, models of risk, goes over risk calculation equations, examines case-studies.Standard handbook for civil engineers by
Call Number: URI Ref TA151 S8 2004ISBN: 0071364730Very short articles focusing on structures, roads, bridges, tunnels, and water issues.Standard handbook of engineering calculations by
Call Number: URI Ref TA332 S73 2005ISBN: 0071427937Common applied problems in 13 engineering disciplines and step-by-step solutions.
The Civil Engineering Handbook by Call Number: URI Ref TA151 C57 2003ISBN: 0849309581Publication Date: 2003Contains resources on project planning (creating estimates, assessing risks, contracts), properties of materials and tolerances, tables and explanations of standard math symbols, constants, and equations, and more.
Water Distribution System Handbook by Call Number: URI Reference TD481 .W375 2000ISBN: 9780071342131Publication Date: 1999Includes information on history, systems, hydraulics of pressurized flow, system design, hydraulics of water distribution systems, pump system hydraulic design, hydraulic transient design for pipeline systems, optimal design of water distribution systems, water quality aspects of construction and operations, water quality, and more.
Includes equations, graphs, labeled diagrams, black and white photographs.
