Need Help?
Introduction
This is a guide to selected information on Economic Indicators available in the URI Libraries.
Economic indicators are used to judge the direction in which an economy is moving. Consumer spending, money supply and interest rates are all economic indicators.
To find additional information, conduct a subject search in the catalog using subject headings such as ECONOMIC INDICATORS, ECONOMIC INDICATORS UNITED STATES, MONEY SUPPLY, INTEREST RATES, CONSUMPTION ECONOMICS, ECONOMIC FORECASTING, and BUSINESS FORECASTING.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? EconLit, produced by the American Economic Association, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature, covering all fields of economics. Indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews. The database contains more than 1.2 million records.
- What dates are covered? 1886 - present
- Fed in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? An Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research.
- What dates are covered? 1963 - Present
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of datasets in social sciences and related areas. Data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata, may be downloaded.
- What else should I know? While accessible from anywhere, users must initially create an account while on campus, and must access the database from on-campus at least once every six months.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- What dates are covered? 1878 - Present.
About this guide...
This guide was originally created by A.S. Turyn 4/1981, 5/1985. Revised by J. Sheridan 4/1992 and by A. Rathemacher 8/1997, 9/1998.
Updated and reformatted by Madge Boldt 3/2011.
Updated by Mark Matook, 5/2018
Updated by Chris Cassaday, 10/2022