LibGuides @ URI: Engineering Resources: Electrical & Computer Engineering

Introduction

This page collects resources focused on Electrical & Computer Engineering. Below, you will find a curated selection of recommended databases, books, and e-books to explore. Keep in mind that these resources are just a starting point! If you're having trouble finding what you need, reach out to a librarian.

Databases

The best place to find articles is in one of the library's databases, but choosing a database can be overwhelming! Here are a few best bets with a brief description of their specialties! Use the recommendations below for a good place to start. If you want to explore beyond these, you can search the library's Databases @ URI list by "subject" to find recommendations for your area of focus.

CiteSeerX Scientific Literature Digital Library
- What's included? Full-text index of computer science research articles. Allows for citation searching and linking.
- What else should I know? Offered by the NEC Laboratories America and Penn State’s School of Information Sciences and Technology.
Energy Citations Database
- What’s included? Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database indexes and provides abstracts for technical reports in energy-related disciplines. Includes links to full text when available.
- What dates are covered? 1948 - Present.
Guide to Computing Literature (ACM)
- What’s included? A collection of of more than 750,000 citations and abstracts from 3,000+ publishers, including works published by ACM and other publishers. Coverage includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and technical support. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide.
IEEE Xplore (IEEE)
- What’s included? Full-text access to IEEE journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings from approximately 125 of the most important IEEE conferences, and selected e-books. Also includes IEEE Spectrum Magazine and the IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive 1936-1999.

ArXiv.org
Open-access archive of more than 1.5 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Finding Books

Search for books using URI Libraries Search! Add search terms into the boxes for the topic or author you're looking for and click "search".

Once you're on the results page, you can use the filters on the right to narrow things down. Choose Available Online if you only want ebooks or Available in the Library if you want materials in print.

Search Tip: Try searching with individual words or short two-word phrases that reflect the main concepts of your topic to get better results. Adding "handbook", "guide", or "manual" to the engineering topic you're focusing on can be a great way to find introductory materials. The box below collects some recommendations to give you a starting point!