Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference & Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Contact us at the
Info & Research Help Desk
Chat With Us
(During Info & Research Help Desk Hours)
Click Here to Start
(Please allow 1 business day for a response)
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The film studies dictionary by
Call Number: Ref PN1993.45 B49 2001
Includes terms used in film industry in addition to theoretical and scholarly terms.
The Film Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Ref PN1993.45 K34 2005
Comprehensive encyclopedia of world cinema. Contains nearly 8,000 entries on technical, artistic, and industrial areas of film. Includes information on directors, producers, actors, screenwriters, genres, theories, film studios, organizations and events, industry and technical terms, and equipment.
The Routledge Companion to Film History by
Call Number: Ref PN1994 .R5735 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-20
This volume is broken down into two sections. The first section is a set of essays revolving around film history as it relates to various themes including production, process, film as art, and more. The second section serves as a dictionary describing critical movements, technical terms, debates, and more. Both sections include cross-references to the different sections. Includes bibliographic references and index.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.