Need Help?
Scholarly Articles & Reports
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
-
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials on the history of countries other than the United States and Canada. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1450 - Present
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Archival journal collections in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, images, and primary source materials from institutions worldwide.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
-
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1914 - Present.
- What’s included? Citations to journal articles, books, government publications, research & conference reports, publications of international agencies, and other materials from over 120 countries. Covers topics related to public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Updated monthly.
-
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1952 - Present.
- What’s included? The international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations and abstracts for journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers in areas such as social structure, inequality, social change, and social problems. Updated monthly.
Websites
-
Genocide WatchGenocide Watch's web site contains "an extensive archive of resources regarding past and present genocides."
-
Guatemala Genocide InformationInformation on genocide in Guatemala provided by Yale University's Genocide Studies Program.
-
Human Rights WatchThe "Publications" section offers a variety of reports on human rights, searchable by issue and by country.
-
U.S. Department of State - Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and LaborThe U.S. Department of State manages this site as a portal for international human rights related information from the United States Government. Includes links to annual human rights reports on various countries.
-
Indigenous Genocide in the Amazon RegionInformation on genocide in the Amazon provided by Yale University's Genocide Studies Program.
-
UNdata This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The United Nations Data Access System, providing access to current, relevant and reliable statistics for free. Includes official statistics produced by countries, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism.
- What else should I know? Produced by United Nations Statistics and Population Divisions as well as other United Nations agencies.
- What’s included? The United Nations Data Access System, providing access to current, relevant and reliable statistics for free. Includes official statistics produced by countries, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism.
Suggested Books
-
Darkness in El Dorado : how scientists and journalists devastated the Amazon
by
Call Number: URI F2520.1 Y3 T54 2001ISBN: 0393322750 -
-
Voices from exile : violence and survival in modern Maya history
by
Call Number: URI F1434.2 W37 M65 1999ISBN: 0806131713
