Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chase's Calendar of Events
Call Number: Available online
Includes holidays, events, and special days, weeks, and months. Types of entries include astronomical phenomena, religious observances, national and international observances, civic holidays, and Presidential proclamations.
Encyclopedia of American Holidays and National Days by
Call Number: URI Reference GT4803 A2 E63 2006
ISBN: 0313331308 (set)
Essays from various scholars in the fields of American history, folklore, politics, and popular culture, "trace the origins and development of some of most significant, civic, and religious observances in America today. In addition to the officially recognized, federally mandated holidays, currently observed, we have chosen to include ceremonial and festive occasions from the nation's past, as well as new holidays emerging from contemporary American life." Includes an index and bibliographic references.
Holiday Symbols and Customs by
Call Number: URI Reference GT3930 T48 2009
Publication Date: 2008-11-13
The author describes over 300 holidays from their origins and customs, to the food and symbols associated with them. This book also explains how, where, and when each of these holidays is celebrated. It is arranged alphabetically, and includes a bibliography, five Appendices such as "Calendars throughout History," and contact information with phone numbers and web sites for related organizations, as well as an index.
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary : Detailing More Than 3,000 Observances From All 50 States and More Than 100 Nations : A Compendious Reference Guide to Popular, Ethnic, Religious, National, and Ancient Holidays by
Call Number: Carothers Library Reference - Non Circulating GT3925 H64 2010
“A compendious reference guide to popular, ethnic, religious, national, and ancient holidays, festivals, celebrations, commemorations, Holy Days, feasts, and fasts, including contact information and Web sites. Supplemented by special sections on words relating to time, calendar systems, phases of the moon, the world's major living religions, facts about the U.S. states and territories, legal holidays by state, facts about the U.S. Presidents, facts about countries around the world, legal holidays by country, tourism information sources...” Includes special subject index and general index.
The Folklore of World Holidays by
Call Number: URI Reference GT3930 F65 1999
Through multiple generations, includes celebrations from countless first person accounts. Topics cover holy days that mark the passing of seasons, days to honor the living or dead, etc. Includes subject index.
The International Book of Days by
Call Number: URI Reference GT4803 D6 2004
In depth accounts of world historical events. Included are appendices of a charter of the United Nations, Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and the North Atlantic Treaty.
Traditional Festivals: A Multicultural Encyclopedia by
Call Number: URI Reference GT3925 R69 2005
The author “explores the major feasts of all world religions, as well as high points of the sacred calendars of ancient civilizations and representative samples of the seasonal rites and celebrations of lesser known local cultures...Readers are guided through fascinating webs of interconnections across time and around the globe, connections that reveal common themes and related instances of festive behavior.” More than 150 A-Z entries. Includes an Appendix which features comparative tables and calendars of the festivals.
Reference Works for specific Holidays & Festivals
African-American Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations by
Call Number: URI Reference GT4803 A2 G39 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-05
The author provides information on over 100 holidays, festivals & celebrations observed by African-Americans. It includes photographs, illustrations, a bibliography, index and a list of contact information and web sites for organizations mentioned in this book. It also has three Appendices, which provide a chronology, a geographical list, and a calendar of all the holidays, festivals and celebrations that are described by the author.
The Halloween Encyclopedia by
Call Number: URI Reference GT4965 .M673 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-27
An informative encyclopedia on the "cultural phenomenon" of Halloween, and other related holidays including Britain's Guy Fawkes Day, Mexico's Day of the Dead, and the Celtic celebration of Samhain. Includes two Appendices covering the "Chronology of Halloween" and "Halloween in Literature and the Arts," as well as several illustrations and a bibliography.
The Christmas Encyclopedia by
Call Number: URI Reference GT4985 C74 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-07
This encyclopedia has over 480 entries related to Christmas, including its origins, traditions, songs, how its depicted in the popular media, how it is celebrated around the world, and much more. It is arranged alphabetically and contains illustrations, references and an index.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.