Need Help?
Welcome
Welcome! This guide is designed to help you locate information about labor relations. Use the tabs on the left to navigate between print, Internet, and research article sources.
To locate books on labor relations, conduct a subject search in the URI Libraries Search for the following SUBJECTS:
- Industrial Relations
- Labor Unions
- Labor Laws and Legislation
- Collective Bargaining
These subject headings can also be combined with keywords related to your topic. You can browse the selected books presented on the "Books by Subject" page of this guide. To find articles about labor relations use the "Finding Articles" tab.
If you need further assistance please don't hesitate to contact a librarian.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Finding Articles
Search the databases listed below to find journal and newspaper articles related to labor relations. Conduct a keyword search or search using subject headings such as:
- Industrial Relations
- Labor Unions
- Labor Laws and Legislation
- Labor Policy
Start with the general database Academic Search Complete. If you need more information there are several subject specific business databases listed below.
Please note: You will need your URI credentials to access these databases from off campus.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? EconLit, produced by the American Economic Association, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature, covering all fields of economics. Indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews. The database contains more than 1.2 million records.
- What dates are covered? 1886 - present
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
Other Databases
These provide regulatory information, company profiles, business directories, and other helpful reference tools.
- D&B Hoovers (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Offers detailed company and industry profiles on over 188 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Company profiles include description of business, company history, key financials and stock information, links to SEC filings, and list of competitors. Industry profiles offer industry description, competitive landscape, products and technology, finance and regulation, industry indicators and trends, and list of companies in the industry. Reports and data can be downloaded.
- What else should I know? Hoover's does not always work well in Firefox; if you are asked to log in, switch to a different browser.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Covers over 10,000 U.S. publicly-traded companies and selected international companies. Unique information provided includes property owned or leased, long-term debt (loans and bonds), and details on all capital stock, with annual high/lows and outstanding shares. Also offers earning estimates, institutional holdings, insider trades, stockholder equity, up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statements, and downloadable annual reports.
- What else should I know? Archival information is provided for over 4,000 companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Key financial information from Dun & Bradstreet is also provided on over 400,000 global private companies. Users may perform custom searches and build reports, convert currency, and download financial information to a spreadsheet.
- Mergent Corporate Manuals (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Access to Mergent and Moody's Corporate Manuals.
- What dates are covered? 1909 - Present.
Created & Revised by
J.B. Etchingham 6/83; rev. 11/83; rev. 6/84; rev. 7/84; rev. 12/86; rev. Andree Rathemacher 9/98; rev. Halie Posey 03/11; rev. Madge Boldt 10/13; rev. Chris Cassaday, 10/22.