Need Help?
Introduction
This is a guide to selected sources of information related to Literary Criticism available at URI. Use the Tabs above to navigate through this guide.
To find additional information, conduct a Subject search in the library catalog. Materials relating to genres, periods, and national literatures are listed with the subheading, HISTORY AND CRITICISM. For example: English Poetry - 19th Century - History and Criticism. Material on a particular author can be found by doing a Subject search using the author's surname with the subheading, CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION. For example: Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Criticism and Interpretation.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Reference Databases
Use these databases to find critical articles in American and English Literature.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
- Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1908-1982 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
- What dates are covered? 1908-1982
- Gale Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Online database of literary criticism. Currently provides online access to Contemporary Literary Criticism vols. 1-421 and Short Story Criticism vols. 1-250 (through 2018).
- Gale Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes work overviews, plot summaries, and explications.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? HathiTrust is a digital library of more than 17.4 million volumes, digitized from member library collections. Authenticated users may download full-book PDF files of all Public Domain and Creative Commons-licensed volumes. All volumes, including copyrighted works, are searchable. Details at: this link..
- What else should I know? URI faculty, staff, and students can log in to HathiTrust to access enhanced features. To log in, select "University of Rhode Island" from the list of institutions and enter your URI SSO (Single Sign-On) Credentials. Include @uri.edu in your username.
- ITER Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
- What dates are covered? 400 AD - 1700 AD.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Guide to scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. International in scope, the MLA Bibliography covers scholarly publications including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Full text for more than 1,000 journals.
- What dates are covered? Early 20th century - Present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
Print Indexes
Abstracts of English StudiesCall Number: URI Ref PE25 .A161958 - 1991
Indexes scholarly journals and monographs covering American and English literature, world literature in English, and English language.- American Humanities IndexCall Number: Ref. AI3 .A278v.1(1975)-v.30(2004)
Index to scholarly English language literary journals, mostly American and Canadian. Most of the journals are not indexed elsewhere. - Articles on American literature, 1900-1950. byCall Number: Z1225 L49Publication Date: 1954Compiles citations to articles on American literature and related areas published between 1900-1950.
- Articles on American literature, 1950-1967 byCall Number: Z1225 L492Publication Date: 1970Compiles citations to articles on American literature and related areas published between 1950-1967.
- Articles on American literature, 1968-1975 byCall Number: Z1225 L493Publication Date: 1979Compiles citations to articles on American literature and related areas published between 1968-1975.
- Index of American Periodical Verse.Call Number: URI Ref. Z1231 P7 I471971-1994, 1998
Indexes "poems published in a broad cross-section of poetry, literary, scholarly, popular, general, and 'little' magazines, journals, and reviews published in the United States. Canada, and the Caribbean."
Created & revised by
J. Kinnie, 10/09, 8/10;
A. Loffredio. 5/13.
C. Braun 10/23