Need Help?
Maps in the Library
The Library has several map collections in print format. Examples are the topographic maps in Government Publications and historical maps in Special Collections.
Some of these maps are cataloged in the library catalog and may be searched by combining a keyword with the word "map", for example, "Kingston map". Records for any print map will include the term "cartographic material" in brackets after the title. Most maps cannot be checked out and must be used in the Library.
Some historical maps housed in Special Collections are not listed in the library catalog. If there's a historical map that you're interested in but cannot find in the library catalog, please ask for assistance at University Archives and Special Collections.
Atlases in Print Format
Atlas of the World by Call Number: URI Ref Encyclo/Atlas G1021 A7545 2008 LIB USE ONLYISBN: 9780195374513Publication Date: 2008Maps of the world depicted in a combined political and topographic format. Also includes street maps of the major cities of the world. Index by place name also includes latitude and longitude.
Atlases are published collections of maps and are produced in print or electronic format. The titles listed below are general atalses. For subject atlases, (for example an atlas of the ancient world, an atlas on migration, etc.) search the library catalog using a keyword for your topic combined with the keyword "atlas".
The Times Comprehensive Atlas of the World by Call Number: Ref Encycl/Atlas G1021 T55 2009ISBN: 0007236700Publication Date: 2007Detailed political and topographic maps of the world. "The World Today" section has thematic maps on various topics such as climate change and population. Includes index by place name and a separate card explaining the map symbols.
