Current streaming titles and databases can be found by selecting 'All Database Types -- Videos' in the A-Z Databases search box.

Borrowing

Circulating DVDs and Blu-ray may be borrowed by URI Faculty, Staff, Undergraduate/Graduate students and borrowers possessing a URI borrowing card.  Titles with a location of course or permanent reserve may be borrowed by Faculty/Staff and Graduate students for classroom use only.

Home use:

• Patrons with valid Rhode Island Resident cards are authorized to check out two titles at a time as long as the titles are not “on reserve.” 16mm films do not circulate.

• The following borrowing periods apply:

• Media materials can not be renewed. Items which would normally be due back on a holiday will be due back the first working day following the holiday.

DVD & Blu-ray Requesting

Items in the Media Collection are cannot be requested through the library catalog.  If you would like to request an item be pulled and held for pickup please call Circulation (401-874-2672).

DVD & Blu-ray Purchase Form

To best serve you and your students:

• Request for New Purchases should be submitted at least three weeks prior to time period for which item is needed for class
• CEPS Faculty - Please submit requests for items at least four weeks prior to time period for which item is needed for class

Make sure you click 'SUBMIT' (it will be a blue button).  If you do not click submit, your request will not be received.

Purchase Request form: https://forms.gle/TLjdnsNrZNtG5fgQ6

Streaming Media Subscription

Please be aware we are not able to fill all requests for streaming media.  Titles with potential use in multiple courses will be given priority.   All streaming subscriptions are for ONE year.

Streaming Requests form: https://forms.gle/BAjAhryNfzPQuEaF8

Viewing stations (VHS/DVD player) are available in the library by the DVD/Blu-Ray shelves and the Reference Collection.  Please bring headphones.

Microfilm / Microfiche

The URI Library Microfilm/fiche Collection is located in the Lower Level of the Carothers Library and Learning Commons on the Kingston Campus.  The collection contains:

Newspapers (Section 1)

Journals (Section 2)

Serials (Section 3)

University dissertations and theses that have not been converted to digital formats (Section 4)

Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) Documents on Microfiche (Section 5)

Other microfiche documents (Section 6)

Titles can be searched in our catalog.

The digital microform reader can be found on the library first floor by the AI Lab.