Articles & Databases for Education
- Education Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides select full text of periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in the field of education.
- What dates are covered? Article indexing, 1983-. Abstracts, 1994-. Full text, 1996-.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to and abstracts of journals and other materials in education, including teacher education, testing, measurement, and evaluation. Updated monthly.
- What dates are covered? 1966 - Present.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides citations and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
- Music Index Online (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. In addition to journal articles, it provides citations for book reviews, obituaries and news articles.
- What dates are covered? 1970 - Present.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracts of journal articles and books in psychology, including applied psychology, developmental psychology, and personality. Updated twice weekly.
- What dates are covered? 1597 - Present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full text of back runs of core scholarly journals in many disciplines, scholarly e-books, and primary source archival materials.
- What else should I know? Many journals in JSTOR have an embargo (called the "Moving Wall") on their most recent articles, generally ranging from 3-5 years. Other databases will provide more current results.
Selected Books
- URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Music Education in Your Hands by Call Number: Fine Arts Music Resource Center - Non Circulating MT2 M94 2002ISBN: 9780415800891Publication Date: 2009
The Music Teacher's First Year by Call Number: Fine Arts Music Resource Center - Non Circulating MT1 P466 M8 2011ISBN: 9781574631654Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Technology and Music Education by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks MT1 .O97 2017ISBN: 9780199372133Publication Date: 2017
Musician and Teacher by Call Number: Carothers Library CML Professional Resources MT1 C227 2008ISBN: 9780393927566Publication Date: 2007
Music Education for the New Millennium by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks MT1 .M9818 2005ISBN: 1405136588Publication Date: 2006
Music and the Young Mind by Call Number: Carothers Library Stacks MT1 H228 2009 and onlineISBN: 9781607090618Publication Date: 2009
Selected ebooks
- URI Libraries SearchLocate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Transforming Music Education by Call Number: also Carothers Library Stacks MT1 J678 2003ISBN: 0253215609Publication Date: 2008
Music Education: Cultural Values, Social Change and Innovation by ISBN: 9780398077266Publication Date: 2007
The Origins and Foundations of Music Education by Publication Date: 2013
Introduction to Effective Music Teaching: Artistry and Attitude by ISBN: 9781442209459Publication Date: 2011
Web Resources for Music Education
- The Kennedy CenterResources for the classroom and professional development.
- Carnegie HallMusic Educators Toolbox.
- National Association for Music EducationInfomation for teachers, students, and on advocacy and research.
- American Choral Directors AssociationProfessional network and resources.
- American School Band Directors AssociationOrganization promoting K-12 band programs, teaching, and music education research.
- NAMM FoundationOrganization supporting scientific research, philanthropic giving, and public service programs.
- Organization of American Kodaly EducatorsOrganization with resources on the Kodaly Concept.
- Musical Instruction and Musical Learning (MIML)Web-based bibliography covering educuation during the Early Modern Period (1450 to 1650).