Featuring almost 300 entries contributed by leading international scholars that examine the psychological dimensions of peace and conflict studies. Entries include "key concepts, theories, methods, issues, and practices" focusing on topics like genocide, hate crimes, torture, terrorism, racism, child abuse, and more.

This 4 volume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, focusing on historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. This resource includes information about major figures, major events, organizations, theories, and much more. Contains a bibliography for further reading, a peace timeline and an index.

This three-volume set examines issues such as modern warfare, conflict, violence, peace, police brutality, aggression in sports, television violence, animal aggression and more. The set is "broken down into 15 subject areas covering approximately 200 different issues. Each article is about 9,000 words, including a definition of the subject, illustrations, glossaries, and bibliographies" (from catalog book summary).

An 8-volume reference source covering the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years – throughout the modern era of mass movements. Go to www.revolutionprotestencyclopedia.com for more information

This three-volume Encyclopedia covers the key concepts and ideas that have shaped the field of activism and social justice. All three volumes also focus on large and small-scale social issues as well as supply biographical information on key figures and thinkers who have helped to shape and influence the world of activism and civic engagement.

This text focuses on the people, events, movements, organizations, and issues associated with activist movements in America from 1960 to the mid-1990s. This is a good starting point for beginning research in this topic. This book also focuses on specific historical events related to activism such as the Million Man March & Bloody Sunday as well as organizations like the National Organization for Women and Greenpeace. All entries are listed alphabetically with an index and bibliography located at the back of the book.

This text "assembles multiple perspectives to create a more comprehensive and nuanced understanding of the concepts and phenomena of nonviolence than is usually seen on the subject" (from catalog summary).

This text "examines and analyzes how people around the world think about justice, governmental apologies, the right to protest, the peace process, the justifiability of armed conflict, the possibility of world peace, and reconciliation."

The beginning of the quest for civil rights in Mississippi. This is an account of student protestors and local activists who risked their lives for equality, standing between southern resistance and federal inaction during the civil rights movement leading to the passing of the Civil Rights Act in 1964

Understanding protest from both sides of the barricades. Using European social theory this book examines the summit protests in Europe and the political significance of these confrontations.

This text focuses on a number of peace movements in Britain and West Germany from the end of Second World War in 1945 to the early 1970s. "Britons and West Germans had been fierce enemies in the Second World War. After 1945, however, many activists in both countries imagined themselves to be part of a common movement against nuclear armaments" (from catalog book summary).