It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This collection of essays explores the Native American experience in the New England states following King Philip's War. Features an essay on the survival of the Narragansett tribe, including the tribe's culture, in Rhode Island.
If you would like to research a particular event in Rhode Island history, you may wish to consult an almanac. You can use this almanac to find information on an event according to when it occurred. URI has copies of this almanac for 1942-1998. The title was changed from Journal-Bulletin Almanac to Journal-Bulletin Rhode Island Almanac in 1973.
This text delves into the role of Rhode Island in the triangular trade. The author discusses how the slave trade that flourished in early Rhode Island was a central part of the state's economy, and provides evidence that Rhode Island's share in the American slave trade was a significant one.
A recounting of the history of Providence Mayor Vincent “Buddy” Cianci, Jr.’s reign over the city, the corruption and scandal that resulted in convictions and the revitalization of the city that Cianci was able to orchestrate. Authored by veteran Providence Journal reporter Mike Stanton.
Call Number: URI Reference KFR401 1986 A6 C66 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Includes the Rhode Island State Constitution with detailed annotations, tracking the evolution of the Constitution from its colonial inception. There is also a table of state and federal cases referenced in the author commentary.
URI political science professor Maureen Moakley co-authored this introduction to Rhode Island's political landscape. This text describes the structure of Rhode Island politics and how Rhode Island politics have evolved, as well as the qualities that make this state's government unique.
This biography of Rhode Island founder Roger Williams discusses how Williams' background and beliefs led to the establishment of Providence, a colony in which religious freedom was championed. The author argues that in establishing Rhode Island as a colony that supported religious freedom, Roger Williams set the foundation for the separation of church and state in the United States.
Full text for over 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers topics including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Updated daily. Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present.
Full-text access to 26 Rhode Island news sources, including: The Brown Daily Herald, The Call (Woonsocket), The Chariho Times, The Coventry Courier, The East Greenwich Pendulum, The Good Five Cent Cigar, The Kent County Daily Times, The Narragansett Times, The North Providence Breeze, The Providence Journal, The Standard-Times (North Kingstown), The Times (Pawtucket), The Valley Breeze & Observer (Smithfield), and The Westerly Sun.
The collection consists of nearly 10,000 books, an image collection containing over 7,000 photographs of people, places and buildings available in print and online, historic and current maps pertaining to Rhode Island cities and towns, newspapers, clippings, pamphlets, reference works, and selected documents from the State of Rhode Island and the City of Providence (Description from PPL website).
The Rhode Island State Archives "preserves and makes available for research Rhode Island's historical public records, which date from 1638 to the present. Our reception area also features exhibits that are free and open to the public." (From their about page.)