Need Help?
Welcome
Most government research is conducted by U.S. government agencies, corporations, and universities. The technical reports which are the published results of this research cover a variety of subjects: science and technology, social and behavioral sciences, business, etc. The Robert L. Carothers Library & Learning Commons has a large technical report collection in both paper and microfiche and can acquire any additional reports as needed.
Finding NTIS Reports
The primary government agency for publishing and distributing technical reports is the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Reports are issued under an alpha-numeric “NTIS Order Number” (e.g. AD 760 482, PB 91-640 929). The paper reports are shelved in the Library by this NTIS order number in the Technical Reports section in Government Publications (Range 50). The microfiche reports are also filed by NTIS order number in the drawers labeled “NTIS Technical Reports” in the Government Publications microfiche area.
NTIS keeps all reports on file, and they are available for purchase. To have the Library order a report or for assistance in ordering a report, please contact the Government Publications Office at (401) 874-2606.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A title keyword index to over 750,000 NTIS reports, datafiles, CD-ROMs, and audiovisual materials.
- What dates are covered? 1990 - Present.
- NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? NASA-produced literature and indexes selected aerospace-related reports from other government agencies.
- What dates are covered? 1958 - Present.
- Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
- This link opens in a new window
Database of digital images of over 20,000 federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. Can be searched by author, title, keyword, agency and document number.
Indexes
- Government reports announcements & index. 1976-1995. byCall Number: Carothers Library Mezzanine - Non Circulating Z7916 G78ISBN: 0097-9007Index to published NTIS reports. Arranged by broad subject areas. Indexed by title keyword, personal and corporate author, contract/grant number, and NTIS order number. Each record includes citation, abstract, and price. For retrospective searching, previous titles of this source were: Bibliography of Scientific and Industrial Reports (1946-1949), Bibliography of Technical Reports (1950-1954), U.S. Government Research Reports (1955-1963), U.S. Government Research and Development Reports (1963-1970).
Created & Revised by
C.P. Winn 4/72; rev. K.S. Nilsen 10/72; A. Shaw 9/76; M. Vocino 4/84; D. Mongeau 3/87, 5/98. 5/04, 4/07, 10/09, H. Williamson 4/10. A. Loffredio 12/12