Need Help?
Indexes to Legislative History: Web Sources
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1976-Index of all resources distributed by U.S. government agencies, including all Congressional publications in all formats. Records may be searched by title, subject, keyword, author, and Sudoc classification number.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations and abstracting of congressional publications and the full text of congressional hearings, reports, documents, prints, bills, and the Congressional Record. Also includes the text of United States laws and regulations, biographical and voting information of members of congress, and more. Updated daily.
- Congress.govDatabase of Congressional legislation and accompanying documents includes legislative history for all bills signed into law back to 1995/96 (104th Congress)
- govinfo.govThe official system of record for online government providing electronic access to a wide variety of information produced by the federal government. All sources are authenticated as official and original copies. Full text sources include: Congressional Bills, Congressional Directory, Congressional Record, Congressional Hearings & Reports, U.S. Code, Public Laws, the CFR, the Federal Register, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, the Constitution, Supreme Court Decisions, Statutes at Large and more.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowThis database of news, legal and business content includes a "Legislative History" file which traces the status of Congressional bills and a "bill tracker" file which traces the status of state bills. The files can be found by selecting "Advanced Search" and then click on "Select a Specific Content Type". The bill tracker file may be searched for bills in one, several or all states
Indexes to Legislative History: Print Sources
- CIS AnnualGovt Pub Index 1970-2003
Index by subject, title, sponsor, witness, bill number and Public Law number to all Congressional publications. Legislative History section lists and summarizes all publications relating to the passage of each law passed that year. Replaced by ProQuest Congressional. - Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsGovt Pub Index 1895-2004
List of publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Includes all Congressional publications. Annual index by author, title, subject and, after 1976, also by SuDoc number, report series number, GPO stock number, and title keyword. Continued by the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (see above).