Need Help?
Introductory Information
Welcome! This guide provides a list of useful Internet resources in the health sciences. The list is arranged alphabetically by title on each page.
Depending on your research topic, you may also want to browse the User Guides to locate other helpful resources, such as library databases, scholarly and popular articles, reference materials, books, or multimedia resources.
If you need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact a librarian using any of the options listed on this page.
Good luck with your research!
Internet Resources: Health Sciences
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
This link opens in a new window
Source for research data and training materials on the quality and safety of health care in the U.S. Part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. - Breast Cancer Searchable Information Center
- This link opens in a new window
A publicly available collection of breast cancer publications. The selection features a range of authoritative fact sheets, posters, and other materials from a number of government agencies including the National Cancer Institute, National Breast Cancer Coalition Fund, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (U.S.), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, United States Food and Drug Administration, Office of Women's Health, and other authoritative sources. - Center for Health Data and Analysis
- This link opens in a new window
The Center for Health Data and Analysis collects and analyzes data about Rhode Islanders to identify health problems among the state's population and subgroups. - ClinicalTrials.gov
- This link opens in a new window
Provides patients and members of the public easy access to information about the location of clinical trials, their design and purpose, criteria for participation and additional disease and treatment information. - Cost-Effective Analysis Registry (CEA)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive database of cost-effectiveness ratios in the published medical literature. - Hardin MD
- This link opens in a new window
A meta directory of Internet resources organized by medical specialty. Includes links to medical pictures. Taken offline in 2017; now links to backup available through Internet Archive. - My Healthfinder
- This link opens in a new window
Gateway to selected consumer health and human services information resources provided by U.S. government agencies and other organizations service the public interest - MayoClinic.com
- This link opens in a new window
Features reliable information on health, nutrition, and wellness from the Mayo Clinic staff. - MedlinePlus
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine Consumer Health Web Site. Includes dictionaries, links to health topics, links to hospitals and specialists, and much more. - Merck Manuals
- This link opens in a new window
"The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public." - National Cancer Institute — Cancer Topics
- This link opens in a new window
Fact sheets and reports on cancer topics produced by the U.S. National Institutes of Heath National Cancer Institute. - National Institutes of Health
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an overview of NIH activities including health information resources and funding opportunities. - Sigma Repository
- This link opens in a new window
The Sigma Repository is "an open digital academic and clinical focused service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types. The repository is a resource of Sigma Theta Tau International (Sigma)." - USDA Agricultural Research Service
- This link opens in a new window
Offers numerous resources on the science of agriculture, including research and statistical databases.
Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Contact us at the
Research Help Desk
Chat With Us
(During Research Help Desk Hours)
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
Email Us
urilibrarian@gmail.com
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)