Need Help?
Introductory Information
Welcome! This guide provides a list of useful internet resources related to the life, marine, and environmental sciences recommended by URI librarians. The list is arranged alphabetically by title.
Depending on your research topic, you may also want to browse the User Guides to locate other helpful resources, such as library databases, scholarly and popular articles, reference materials, books, or multimedia resources.
If you need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact a librarian using any of the options listed in the Reference & Research Help box towards the bottom of this page.
Good luck with your research!
Internet Resources: Life Sciences, Marine, & Environment
- Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
This link opens in a new window
This resource provides information on organic, community-based, and sustainable agriculture. It includes documents published by the USDA, the United Nations, research universities and other organizations. AFSIC provides access to databases of primary and secondary research and literature. - Encyclopedia of Life
- This link opens in a new window
An evolving resource on biodiversity curated by researchers from the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History, the Marine Biological Laboratory, and the New Library of Alexandria. - ENTRI: Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators
- This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network, ENTRI is a comprehensive online search service for finding information about environmental treaties and natural resource indicators. Contains the full text of many treaties. - FishBase
- This link opens in a new window
“A global information system with all you ever wanted to know about fishes.” - Fisheries Statistics and Economic Division (NMFS)
- This link opens in a new window
Data from the National Marine Fisheries Service on commercial fisheries, recreational fisheries, imports and exports, fishery market news, and more. - National Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA)
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a broad range of federal information on fisheries and aquaculture, including conservation, protection, and sustainability, as well as recent news. - National Marine Sanctuaries
- This link opens in a new window
Online guide with photos, streaming video, and important biological information for over 100 marine species from each of the Marine Sanctuaries in the United States. - National Snow and Ice Data Center
- This link opens in a new window
Makes available research data in the field of polar and cryospheric research, that is, the properties of snow and ice and all environmental interactions with them, including global warming and melting ice caps. Also includes research profiles, program information, news and analysis associated with the research.
- National Service Center for Environmental Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? EPA scientific, technical, and educational publications. Many are full text and can be downloaded or printed. Those not available online can be ordered from EPA or requested through interlibrary loan.
- Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the TRI Program is a database of information about releases and transfers of toxic chemicals from manufacturing facilities. Searchable by area, facility, industry, parent company, and destination of off-site transfer. - USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 300 reports and datasets from the economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture that cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Maintained by Cornell University. - Water Level Tidal Predictions (NOAA)
- This link opens in a new window
This system will allow you to calculate tidal current predictions for the more than 3000 tidal current stations. - Water Resources of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
Real time and historical water data from the U.S. Geological Survey, including information on water use, acid rain, and other water-related topics.
Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Contact us at the
Research Help Desk
Chat With Us
(During Research Help Desk Hours)
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
Email Us
urilibrarian@gmail.com
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)