Need Help?
Finding Articles
Consult articles once you've created a research question or thesis and want to look at your topic in detail. If you are just starting out and don't have a good sense of your topic yet, check out "Finding Background Information" first.
The databases on this page provide access to scholarly, popular, and news articles. Some databases will lead you directly to the full text of an article while others will help you find abstracts (summaries) for articles that you'll need to track down elsewhere.
If you have any trouble finding what you need, just ask a librarian! For a refresher, check out our guide.
To browse a specific journal, search for it by name in URI's Journal Search or browse for journals by subject on BrowZine!
-
E-Journal List - URI Journal SearchEnter the title of the journal or newspaper you're looking for to find access quickly!
-
BrowZineAn app that lets you browse journals by discipline or search by title. You can save journals or articles to a personalized bookshelf for later use!
Relevant Databases for Health Sciences & Women's and Gender Studies
The best place to find articles is in one of the library's databases, but choosing a database can be overwhelming! Here are a few best bets from the fields of Health Sciences and Women's and Gender Studies with a brief description of their specialties and strengths! Use the recommendations below for a good place to start. If you want to explore beyond these, you can search the library's Databases @ URI list by "subject" to find recommendations for your field or area of study.
-
CINAHL (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and other materials in nursing and allied health.
- What dates are covered? 1981-. Updated monthly.
-
PubMed (linked to URI holdings) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1947 - Present.
- What’s included? Provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals. A service of the National Library of Medicine. Updated daily.
-
Women’s Studies International (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites, and grey literature.
- What dates are covered? Ranges from 1972 and earlier to the present.
-
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and governmental, NGO, and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
- What dates are covered? 1970's - Present
- What’s included? Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and governmental, NGO, and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
-
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides citations to articles on biomedicine and life sciences topics including bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, marine biology, and preclinical sciences.
- What dates are covered? 1809 - Present.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Provides high-quality data in a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. Updated quarterly.
Suggested Multidisciplinary Databases
Check out these multidisciplinary databases to access scholarly information, such as articles, books, and reports, from a wide range of academic disciplines and subject areas as well as popular sources. This can be a useful place to begin your research when studying cross disciplinary topics.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to and full text of over 8,500 journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and more.
- What dates are covered? Coverage varies, but generally covers the mid 1990s - present. Updated daily.
-
Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
-
Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
- Learn more about how to use Web of Science.