1. Start at the URI Libraries home page.

2. Select "Articles and Databases" under the simple search box.

3. Select "Academic Search Complete" from the alphabetical list.

After you search, Academic Search Complete offers you a number of refining features and tools to sort, expand, narrow, cite, and save your results.

1. Sorting results

By default, Academic Search Complete sorts your search results by relevance.  If you'd rather see the most recent articles first or the oldest articles first, you can change this using the pull-down menu.

2. Limit your publication date

If your professor has asked for more recent sources or you have a topic where you need the most current research, use the publication date filter under All Filters to narrow your search.

Click on Publication Date to expand the date options. 

From the menu, select a pre-set date range or specify your own custom range. 

Here's an example with a custom range entered.

Click Apply to filter your search results.

 

3. Narrow results using Subject: Thesaurus Terms

Subject: thesaurus terms are standardized words or phrases that describe the primary content of a source.  You can use these terms to help focus and narrow your search.  From the All filters menu, click on Subject: Thesaurus Term.

Using the expanded menu, check the boxes next to any subject term(s) to which you'd like to limit your search. If you'd like to see additional subject options, click the link below the list to show more. When you're ready to see the filtered results, click Apply.

4. Print, email, cite, and other tools

When you find an article that looks promising, click on the article title from your results list to get to the full article record. This record contains all the important information about the article including its title, author(s), source (journal or magazine in this case), and abstract (summary of the article).

Use the tools above the title to interact with the source. There are many actions available, but these are some of the most useful:

• Save the article for later
• Cite the article (just don't forget to check it against your citation manuals because there may be errors)
• Share the article
• Download the article

When you conduct a search in a database or the library catalog, the results are organized into records. In addition to information about the source (like author, title, publication date, abstract/summary), a record will indicate how to access your source in full text. When you search for an article in full text, there are a few possible scenarios that you might encounter. Below you'll find four ways you can access articles here at URI.

1. PDF or Online Full Text Attachment

• Click on the Access Options link to connect with the full text. 
• If you have a choice of either a PDF or online full text, the PDF is often more useful because it is a scan of the original document.  It will include page numbers, charts, graphs, and illustrations--features that may not be available in the online text version.

2. Get from URI Libraries

• If there is no PDF or Online Full Text attached to the record, do not give up! Often you can still access the article through the URI Libraries.
• Look for the Get from URI Libraries or Search @ URI Libraries link, which may be located next to or below the record information.
• Click on the link and a new window will open that provides link(s) to access the article in full text.
• Select the relevant link(s) to access the full-text article.

3. Access in Print

• When searching for full-text articles, the Get from URI Libraries or Search @ URI Libraries links might bring you to a record that indicates a physical location in the URI Libraries.  This indicates that your article is available in the library's bound volumes of periodicals.
• Identify the date, volume, and issue of the journal that your article is in, and match it against the dates listed in the record.
• If the catalog record indicates that the library has the appropriate date, volume, and issue, write down the call number of the journal and visit the Serials Stacks in the Lower Level of the Carothers Library.
• After you locate your article, you can copy it or scan and email it to yourself using the printers at the library. You cannot take the journal out of the library.

​   

4. Access through Interlibrary Loan

• If you select the Get from URI Libraries or Search @ URI Libraries link and cannot access the article either electronically or in print, sign in using your URI email address and SSO password.
• Follow the links to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.
• Most requests are filled within 1-3 business days.