Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A dictionary of zoology by
Call Number: URI Ref. QL9 C66 2009
Also at the Providence Campus Library. 1999 edition can be found at PELL with the call number QL9 C66 1999, and is also available as an eBook (see below entry). Covers all aspects of zoology, from behavioral ecology and conservation biology to cytology and taxonomy.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior by
Call Number: URI Ref. QL750.3 .E533 2010
3 vol. Covers communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, as well as emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.
Encyclopedia of the world's zoos by
Call Number: URI Ref. QL76 .E53 2001
Describes 400 zoos worldwide, including a number of species in each. Access by zoo and by species.
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia by
Call Number: URI Ref. QL7 G7813 2003
17 vol. Classical major encyclopedia of animals. Each volume has basic biology of the group covered, and full accounts of many species. Very well illustrated.
International zoo yearbook by
Call Number: URI Ref. QL76 .I55
Publishes articles on zoos and news about species. v.1(1959)-v.40(2006). Missing volume 39. Continued online (see listing below)
International zoo yearbook [online] by
Published by The Zoological Society of London as a service to zoos around the world. The International Zoo Yearbook is an international forum for the exchange of information on the role of zoos in the conservation of biodiversity, species and habitats.
The Illustrated Atlas of Wildlife by
Call Number: URI Ref. QL101 I46 2009
Details the ecology and wildlife of the continents, oceans, and poles, and includes up-to-date conservation and preservation data and the human impact on the world's ecosystems.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.