It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All encompassing alphabetic guide to archaeological methods and terms, ancient and historic sites, ancient peoples, and practitioners within archaeology. Complete with maps, timelines, and cross-references.
3 volumes. Provides information on the history of archeology from pre-history to the present. Articles include information on major archaeologists, methods, sites, and discoveries, and are arranged by region, country, and theme.
Contains descriptions of types of dating, excavation, tools & artifacts as well as key individuals, sites. Alphabetic order with cross-references. Includes Bibliography; List of sites & terms; Timeline for writing and archaeology.
2 volumes. Arranged in three sections. The first section covers aims of the subject and its theoretical and methodological basis. The second section deals with cross-cultural themes and issues. The third section covers subjects from human evolution through industrialization and late capitalism.
Print Sources for Underwater Archaeology
Print resources on underwater/maritime archaeology.
Alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced. Covers underwater sites including submerged cities and shipwrecks. Also provides information pertinent to the technological, technical, and legal aspects of underwater archaeology.