Need Help?
Introduction
This is a guide to selected sources in the aquaculture literature at URI. To find additional information, conduct a subject search in the catalog using subject headings such as AQUACULTURE, AQUACULTURE INDUSTRY, FISH FARMING, FISH CULTURE, and MARICULTURE.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Pell Marine Science Library
The Pell Marine Science Library is separated physically from the URI Kingston library by about 6 miles. Some aquaculture print sources will be located at Pell, while others will be at Kingston. You can request a book from Pell and have it sent to Kingston, and vice versa.
Articles & Databases
- AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Coverage of worldwide literature on agriculture and related subjects, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, etc. Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, technical reports, and other materials.
- What dates are covered? 1970- (books) and 1981- (articles). Updated daily.
- BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to sources in traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology.
- What dates are covered? 1969-present
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Indexing of approximately 300 core periodicals in biology and agriculture.
- What dates are covered? 1983-. Updated daily.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations, abstracts, and selected full text for over 600 scholarly and general interest periodicals, government documents, and reports focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.
- What dates are covered? 1973 - Present
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
- What dates are covered? 1995 - Present.
- SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to, abstracts, and full text of scholarly research and technical literature in disciplines related to natural sciences and technology. Content covered includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1946 - Present.
- What else should I know? Comprises the sub-databases: Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database; Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index; AGRICOLA; Agricultural Science Database; Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts; Biological Science Database; Biological Science Index; Computer Science Database; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Engineering Database, Engineering Index; Environmental Science Database; Environmental Science Index; Materials Science Database; Materials Science Index; Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts; Oceanic Abstracts; Science Database.
Department Publications
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
Loading ...
Created & Revised by
D. Gleisner 1/81 • rev. J. Lawrence Kelland 5/87 • J. Lawrence Kelland/P Spinner 1/92 • J. Lawrence Kelland 11/03, 5/07 • Heather Williamson 5/10 • Madge Boldt 11/12, 2/14