Need Help?
Introductory Information
Archives around the region offer ample opportunity to explore primary sources. Some are located in libraries and universities, others may be located in state offices, preservation societies, or other organizations. This list is one place to start locating archival materials. It may also be helpful to consult WorldCat and the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections. Links and details about them are below.
Please keep in mind that if you plan on using special collections or archives, you are likely to need an appointment. Call before you plan to visit, and allow enough time to get any documentation you might need to prove that you are a researcher.
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Contains nearly a million archival collection descriptions.
- What else should I know? To use the items described, or order copies, contact the archiving institution directly.
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (Library of Congress)Created and maintained by the Library of Congress, the NUCMC contains information describing the archival holdings of institutions around the United States.
National Sources
- Library of Congress Digital Collections
- This link opens in a new window
Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures and text from the Library of Congress. - Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
- This link opens in a new window
The DPLA serves as a portal to the openly available, digitized contents of America’s libraries, archives, and museums. It indexes materials in all formats. - Photogrammar (Yale University)
- This link opens in a new window
Map and text index to photographs taken as part of the Farm Security Administration - Office of War Information program from 1935-1943.
Citing the Sources You've Found
Need help citing these sources in the correct format? RefWorks can help you cite the web sites, manuscripts, and other resources you find on the linked pages. For assistance with RefWorks, please contact Amanda Izenstark.
Created and Modified by
Compiled by Amanda Izenstark, Rob Widell.
Revised by M. Boldt, 12/12; additions and edits by Karen Morse, 1/18.