This is a guide to archives in the area, and is currently in development. We'd love to incorporate any suggestions you might have - please email them to Amanda (firstname.lastname@example.org) or Rob (email@example.com) or post them in the pages' comments areas.
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement through 1) a digital video archive of historical news film, 2) a civil rights portal providing a connection to related digital collections, and 3) contextual stories, encyclopedia articles, lesson plans, and activities.
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
Archive currently contains over 3 million pages of scanned materials including documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. The bulk of the holdings of the Vietnam Archive tend to be more personal in nature - personal photographs, letters home, etc. While there are some official records, particularly from the USMC, these are generally copies kept and donated by veterans or researchers.