Need Help?
Overview
Federal law includes: the U.S. Constitution, federal statutes, administrative law, and federal case law. The following sources are free sources for each type of federal law.
Federal Constitution
- The U.S. Constitution AnnotatedThis resource is an annotated version of the U.S. Constitution and is part of the official Congress government website.
- The U.S. Constitution posted by the LIIThe Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School provides online access to the U.S. Constitution.
- The Annotated U.S. Constitution at JustiaThe website Justia has an online listing of the U.S. Constitution.
Federal Statutes
- The United States CodeThe U.S. Code is consolidated and codified by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives at this link.
- The United States CodeA virtual version of the U.S. Code is available at this link from the U.S. Government Publishing Office.
- The United States Code by the LIIThe Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School provides access to an easy-to-navigate online version of the U.S. Code.
- The U.S. Code at JustiaThe website Justia provides online copies of the U.S. Code from years 1994 to 2021.
- U.S. Statutes at LargeThe U.S. Government Publishing Office has a listing of the U.S. Statutes at large prepared by the OFR and NARA at this link.
- Slip LawsThe U.S. Government Publishing Office provides a listing of private and public laws that are published as slip laws.
Federal Regulations
- The Code of Federal RegulationsThe National Archives publishes an online regularly-updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations.
- The Code of Federal RegulationsThe annual edition of the Code of Federal Regulations is published by the U.S. Government Publishing Office at this link.
- Federal RegisterThe U.S. Government Publishing Office provides access to an online published version of the Federal Register at this link.
- Regulatory and Agency DocumentsThis link provides access to a searchable database of federal regulatory agency actions and documents.
Federal Case Law
All Federal Courts
- The Federal Court Dockets at JustiaJustia has a searchable online database of Federal cases, dockets and filings.
- Court Listener DatabaseThe Court Listener website is a free law project that contains a collection of federal and state court cases.
Federal Supreme Court
- Supreme Court Decisions at LIIThe Legal Information Institute provides online access to recent Supreme Court Decisions, and an archive of past decisions.
- Supreme Court BriefsThe U.S. Department of Justice has an online listing of Supreme Court briefs from 1985 to the present.
- Oyez ProjectThe Oyez project is an online project with the purpose of access to Supreme Court resources, cases, and information.
- U.S. Supreme Court Docket SystemThe U.S. Supreme Court has an online docket system of pending and decided Supreme Court cases.
- Supreme Court at JustiaThe Supreme Court Center at Justia is an online database of Supreme Court cases and history.
- Federal Courts of Appeals Cases at JustiaThe website Justia provides a comprehensive collection of Federal Courts of Appeals Cases.
- FindLaw Legal ResourcesThis page on FindLaw lists the direct link to the website's resources for different federal and state courts. FindLaw has a large number of resources. This is one of the more significant resources for the U.S. Court of Appeals.
Federal Courts of Appeals Cases
- Federal Courts of Appeals Cases at JustiaThe website Justia provides a comprehensive collection of Federal Courts of Appeals Cases.
- FindLaw Legal ResourcesThis page on FindLaw lists the direct link to the website's resources for different federal and state courts. FindLaw has a large number of resources. This is one of the more significant resources for the U.S. Court of Appeals.