Need Help?
Introduction
To find additional information, conduct a Subject search in the catalog using subject headings such as ENGLISH LITERATURE. Subheadings such as 19th CENTURY or DICTIONARIES will narrow the search. (Example: English Literature 19th Century History and Criticism.) A Subject search on individual authors will bring up material on that author. (Example: Shakespeare, William.) An author/creator search in the Advanced Search function will bring up books and materials written by a specific author.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Getting Started
American Literary ScholarshipCall Number: URI Ref PS3 A47(Annual 1963-1996)
Continued Online (see below)
Annual review of literary criticism presented in scholarly essays. Organized by major authors and genres/time periods. Includes author and subject indexes. Additional years available online.- Handbook of Literary Research by Call Number: URI Ref. PR56 M54 1995ISBN: 0810829770Publication Date: 1995Explores strategies and resources to be used in researching English and American literature.
The Humanities by Call Number: Z6265 B53 1994ISBN: 1563081687Publication Date: 1994Lists reference works in the humanities including American literature.
Literary Research Guide by Call Number: URI Ref. Z2011 H34 2002ISBN: 0873529839Publication Date: 2002“Selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literature of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.” Contains descriptions of other reference works.
General Works
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters by Call Number: URI Ref PN44 M3 1998ISBN: 0893564389Publication Date: 1998Descriptions of over twenty thousand characters from 3,300 novels, plays, epics and other classic literature. Arranged alphabetically by title of the work. Includes author, title and character indexes.
5 vols.
Cyclopedia of World Authors by Call Number: URI Ref PN451 M36 2004ISBN: 158765122XPublication Date: 2003Biographical sketches of over 2,400 authors from earliest times to the present. Each entry includes a list of the author's works and a bibliography of sources for further study. The entries also identify each author's nationality, ethnicity, and primary genre.
5 vols.
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century by Call Number: URI Ref PN771 E5 1999ISBN: 1558623736This 4-volume encyclopedia provides international coverage including articles on national literatures, and biographical/critical articles. Includes bibliographies for authors and an index to the entire set.
World Authors, 1900-1950 by Call Number: URI Ref PN451 .W674 1996ISBN: 0824208994Biographical sketches of writers who came into prominence in the first half of the 20th century. Entries include lists of works by and about each author.
4 vols.
Reading the American Novel 1865 - 1914 by ISBN: 9780631234067Publication Date: 2011-10-17
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by ISBN: 1316623327Publication Date: 2017-05-27
