Need Help?
Finding Articles
Consult articles once you've created a research question or thesis and want to look at your topic in detail. If you are just starting out and don't have a good sense of your topic yet, check out "Finding Background Information" first.
The databases on this page provide access to scholarly, popular, and news articles. Some databases will lead you directly to the full text of an article while others will help you find abstracts (summaries) for articles that you'll need to track down elsewhere.
If you have any trouble finding what you need, just ask a librarian! For a refresher, check out our guide.
To browse a specific journal, search for it by name in URI's Journal Search or browse for journals by subject on BrowZine!
-
E-Journal List - URI Journal SearchEnter the title of the journal or newspaper you're looking for to find access quickly!
-
BrowZineAn app that lets you browse journals by discipline or search by title. You can save journals or articles to a personalized bookshelf for later use!
Suggested [SUBJECT] Databases
The best place to find articles is in one of the library's databases, but choosing a database can be overwhelming! Here are a few best bets with a brief description of their specialties and strengths! Use the recommendations below for a good place to start. If you want to explore beyond these, you can search the library's Databases @ URI list by "subject" to find recommendations for your field or area of study.
You may also refer to the "Best Bets" tab of the Arts and Humanities or the English databases.
-
Gale Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes work overviews, plot summaries, and explications.
-
Iter Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
- What dates are covered? 400 AD - 1700 AD.
-
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Guide to scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. International in scope, the MLA Bibliography covers scholarly publications including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Full text for more than 1,000 journals.
- What dates are covered? Early 20th century - Present.
- What’s included? Guide to scholarship on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. International in scope, the MLA Bibliography covers scholarly publications including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Full text for more than 1,000 journals.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
-
Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983 (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Contains bibliographic entries on more than 150,000 short stories from the Short Story Index.
- What dates are covered? 1915 - 1983.
- What’s included? Contains bibliographic entries on more than 150,000 short stories from the Short Story Index.
Online Journals
-
-
-
Publications of the Modern Language Association of America byCall Number: ejournal
-