Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- What dates are covered? 1878 - Present.
Free Consumer & Demographic Information
- Census BureauOfficial government source for a broad range of social, demographic, business, and economic statistics. Historical data can be found under the "Publications" links on the Census homepage.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveySummary statistics from the Consumer Expenditure Survey, which is conducted by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Reports broad categories of consumer expenditures by age, income, and Metropolitan Statistical Area. Data available from the mid-1980s to the present.
- Population Reference BureauNon-profit organization that provides international statistical information on population, health, and the environment.
- ThomasNet.comContains information on industrial equipment including machinery, piping, structural materials, and consumables (including chemicals). Contains links to manufactures and suppliers, although it is usually necessary to contact the individual companies for pricing information. Additional resources include company profiles and 400+ white papers.
Demographics & Market Information
American Buyers by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781940308463Publication Date: 2014Demographic survey information from 2012. Includes information on buyers of: apparel, entertainment, financial products and services, food and alcoholic beverages, gifts for people in other households, health care, household services, supplies, and furnishings, housing shelter and utilities, personal care, reading material, education, and tobacco, and transportation.- American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1940308771Publication Date: 2014-"Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth." (From the publisher.)
American Men and Women: Who They Are and How They Live, 2nd Edition by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781940308104Publication Date: 2013Provides demographic, spending, and attitude information on men and women, and how this differs across age ranges.- Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand, 9th Edition by Call Number: Carothers Library Ref. HC79 C6 R87 2012ISBN: 9781937737108Publication Date: 2012Who uses what goods and services? Provides data on household spending in the United States on numerous products and services by age, income, household type, race and Hispanic origin, region of residence, and educational attainment of householder.
- Consumer behavior 2013 by Call Number: Carothers Library Reference HF 5415.32 .C6537 2013ISBN: 9781577831846Publication Date: 2013Provides demographics and statistics related to behavioral analysis, brand preferences, consumer spending, and more.
- Demographics USACall Number: URI Reference HF5415.2 .S94This annual publication contains detailed demographic information for all states and countries, including a measure of consumer buying power. Ranks metro areas by population characteristics and sales of types of products. Sales, employment, and number of establishments by type are also given.
- Editor & publisher market guideCall Number: URI Serial Stacks HF5905 .E38Contains a wealth of market information. MSAs, counties, and cities are ranked by population, disposable income, income per household, retail sales, and sales by product type. More detailed statistics are provided for national newspaper markets on topics such as transportation, number of passenger cars, banks and deposits, gas and installations, colleges and universities, etc.
- Household Spending by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1937737128Publication Date: 2015Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides a detailed and comprehensive analysis of how American households allocate their spending dollars from food and alcohol to home improvements and dry cleaning.
- International marketing data and statisticsCall Number: URI Serial Stacks HA42 .I56Compilation of international statistics. Statistics include economic indicators, foreign trade, environmental data, advertising patterns, consumer prices and costs, consumer market sizes and expenditure patterns, retailing, health and living standards, literacy, communications, and travel and tourism.
