Need Help?
Introduction
To find books on marketing topics in the URI Libraries Search, use subjects such as "Marketing" or "Advertising" and their subdivisions.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries.
Articles & Databases
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.
- AtoZdatabases This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Directory information for residences and businesses across the US. Allows searching by name but also by addresses, zip codes, and more. Results can be emailed and downloaded in a variety of standard formats.
- What else should I know? Provided by AskRI.org. Available to Rhode Island residents only.
- D&B Hoovers (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Offers detailed company and industry profiles on over 188 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Company profiles include description of business, company history, key financials and stock information, links to SEC filings, and list of competitors. Industry profiles offer industry description, competitive landscape, products and technology, finance and regulation, industry indicators and trends, and list of companies in the industry. Reports and data can be downloaded.
- What else should I know? Hoover's does not always work well in Firefox; if you are asked to log in, switch to a different browser.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? News, law, and business information service. Includes news from national and international newspapers; wire services and articles from hundreds of periodicals; and a number of other reference sources. All sources are full-text. Updated daily.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Covers over 10,000 U.S. publicly-traded companies and selected international companies. Unique information provided includes property owned or leased, long-term debt (loans and bonds), and details on all capital stock, with annual high/lows and outstanding shares. Also offers earning estimates, institutional holdings, insider trades, stockholder equity, up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statements, and downloadable annual reports.
- What else should I know? Archival information is provided for over 4,000 companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Key financial information from Dun & Bradstreet is also provided on over 400,000 global private companies. Users may perform custom searches and build reports, convert currency, and download financial information to a spreadsheet.
- D&B Country Reports and D&B Country RiskLine Reports (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Two distinct areas: D&B Country Reports provide detailed political, economic, and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Select "Country Reports" when searching. D&B Country RiskLine Reports are updated more frequently, often monthly, as situations change. Includes information on the improving, stable, or deteriorating business risk environment in a country.
Brand Names & Market Shares
Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands Series by Call Number: URI Reference HF5415.3 E527 1994ISBN: 1558623353Publication Date: 1994-01-01Gives detailed profiles of the United States' most popular names, including a history of the brand, and analysis of the brand's standing in its Market, and advertising innovations and strategies. A picture of the brand's logo is provided, as is a short bibliography.- Market share reporter (Print & Online)Call Number: Print (Serials HF5410 M35) & Online AccessISBN: 9781414460581Find market share data on over four thousand companies, and 2,500 products, facilities, and brands. Several entries are usually available under each industry. Print versions from 1991, 1997-2010 in Serials Stacks.
Created and Revised by
John E. Etchingham/C. Cummings/J. Clifton 8/92 • revised by Andrée Rathemacher 8/97, 9/98 • revised Kari Weaver 4/07 • revised by Amanda Izenstark 1/11 • revised by Anthony Loffredio, 5/13 • revised by Amanda Izenstark, 3/16. • revised by Chris Cassaday, 10/22.