Need Help?
Managing Your Information
Once you have identified appropriate material for your research, it's important to manage it so it doesn't overwhlem you and you can easily retrieve it when needed. Listed below are several bibliographic manager programs which you can use. In addition, most databases allow you to set up accounts where you can store and manage your search results.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What does RefWorks do? RefWorks is a web-based citation manager. Import citations from databases to create your own personal collection. Automatically format your papers and bibliographies in any of almost 150 formats (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, CBE, etc.).
- Mendeley
This link opens in a new window
Mendeley offers citation management, PDF annotation, and the opportunity to network with researchers. Desktop app installation adds to functionality. Also has an iPhone/iPad app. - Zotero
- This link opens in a new window
Free citation manager that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. Offers major citation formats including MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, and many more.
Writing Aids
Once you're done with your research, it's time to write the paper. In terms of writing in general, there are many writing style manuals available in print. Searching the URI Libraries Search under the keywords "style manual" will bring up a myriad of books to help with the mechanics of writing.
The sources listed below will also help you write more effectively and efficiently.
- Citing Correctly and Avoiding PlagiarismGuide on how to ensure that you avoid plagiarism. The tabs also point to guides on the various citing styles. Links to additional sources plagiarism and citing are also included.
- Merriam Webster Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online Merriam-Webster English dictionary and thesaurus, Spanish-English dictionary, and medical dictionary. - Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 10th edition of Familiar Quotations by John Bartlett, published in 1919. “A collection of passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature.” - Encyclopedia.com
- This link opens in a new window
"Search over 200 individual encyclopedias and reference books from the world's most trusted publishers." Lists over 300,00 entries from the resources of Oxford University Press, Columbia University Press and Cengage Publishing. - Infoplease Almanac
- This link opens in a new window
Almanac with general information on the world, the U.S., sports, people, entertainment, business, society, living, and science & technology. Also includes a dictionary and an encyclopedia.