Need Help?
Advanced Research
In addition to doing a literature search for articles, graduate students should also be searching for their topic in the dissertation literature and also engage in citation analysis. Listed below are the two databases which all graduate students should consult when doing advanced and comprehensive research.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 2.7 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
My Profile
URI Librarian
Contact:
Kingston: (401) 874-2653
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Narragansett: (401) 874-6161
Subjects: Africana Studies, Articles & Databases, Assignments, Biological Sciences, Business, Business, Labor, and Economics, Cell & Molecular Biology, Common Reading, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders, Computer Science & Statistics, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Environmental & Natural Resource Economics, Film Studies, Fisheries, Animal & Veterinary Science, General & Reference, General Library Information, Government Publications, Government, Politics, and Law, Health Sciences, Hot Topics, Human Development & Family Studies, Internet Resources, Journalism, Labor Relations & Human Resources, Landscape Architecture, Law, Life Sciences, Marine & Environment, Marine Affairs, Mathematics, Natural Resources, Nursing, Nutrition & Food Science, Pharmacy, Plant Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Rhode Island and New England, Scholarly Communication, Social Sciences, Sociology & Anthropology, Textiles, Fashion Merchandising & Design, Tutorials
Research Help
Ways to Get Research Help
Contact us at the
Research Help Desk
Chat With Us
(During Research Help Desk Hours)
Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.
Email Us
urilibrarian@gmail.com
(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)