Need Help?
Introduction
Indexes allow subject searching of periodical articles. Engineering and science indexes also often cover books, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and other resources. For other indexes, see http://www.uri.edu/library/reference_databases/title.html.
Databases
- American Chemical Society Web Editions This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Full-text access to the latest four years of the journals published by the American Chemical Society. Browse tables of contents or search for current or archival articles by author or keyword.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? From the Royal Society of Chemistry. Access to physical data on over 25 million compounds. Search by chemical name, synonym, trade name, registry number, SMILES, InChI, CSID, structure image, chemical elements, properties, and more.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1970-. Updated weekly.
- What else should I know? Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A collection of journals from the publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Journals may be browsed or searched by keyword. Access to the full content of articles from selected journals is available to URI users. Availability is indicated by a green icon. Other articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
- What dates are covered? 1995 - Present.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service, CAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Citations to 1,600 key chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals and selectively cites to 8,000 more, plus conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and other materials. Also contains information on chemical substances and reactions, regulations, and chemical suppliers. Updated daily.
- What dates are covered? 1907 - Present.
- What else should I know? To use this index: you must be a URI student, staff, or faculty member with a valid email address ending in "uri.edu." You will need to go to the CAS registration site from a URI computer and set up an account with CAS. The password selection process requires close attention to the password criteria and may take several tries. Successful registration results in an email with a link which you must click to finish registration.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track, analyze, and visualize article and literature use. Includes journal articles, books, book series, conference papers, and more. Alternative to Web of Science. Indexes close to 35,000 titles.
- Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Access to Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1900-present), and Book Citation Index (2005-present). Contains citations to articles from over 10,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- What else should I know? Searching by cited reference allows the user to uncover the research that influenced an author’s work or to navigate forward in time to discover a paper’s impact on current research.
Websites/Indexes
- Where to Find Material Safety Data Sheets on the InternetGuide to resources for Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) on chemical substances.