Need Help?
Reference Books: Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Encyclopedias provide an overview of knowledge on important subjects. General unabridged dictionaries have good coverage of terms in criminal justice, but are not as complete as dictionaries limited to a particular subject.
Guides to the literature introduce a subject field and indicate the available resources and the way to use them. Handbooks are similar to encyclopedias but cover a narrower subject area and are usually comprised of a collection of essays written by experts. Manuals provide instructions in how to perform a task
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America by ISBN: 9781412999571Publication Date: 2013-03-28This encyclopedia focuses mainly on urban crimes, including burglary, drug dealing, murder, and other street crimes and scams.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse by Call Number: HV6626 .E535 2013 v. 1-2ISBN: 9781610690010Publication Date: Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2013]
Encyclopedia of Terrorism by Call Number: HV6431 .E534 2013 v. 1-2ISBN: 9780313308956Publication Date: 2012-11-01This set provides coverage of the events, individuals, groups, incidents, and trends in terrorism in the modern era.
The U. S. Justice System by Call Number: KF8700.A68 U27 2012 v. 1-3ISBN: 9781598843040Publication Date: 2011-08-01"This comprehensive, three-volume set provides detailed background essays, short topical entries, and primary document excerpts that explain the organization, history, and functioning of the U.S. justice system"-- Provided by publisherEncyclopedia of Criminological Theory by
Call Number: URI Reference HV6017 E527 2010ISBN: 9781412959186Concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and concepts in criminological theory.Black's Law Dictionary by
Call Number: URI Reserves KF156 B53 2009ISBN: 9780314199492Standard legal authority. Citations to court decisions included when a term has been affected by legislation, court rules, or court decisions.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive BehaviorCall Number: URI Ref. HV5804 E53 2009ISBN: 9780028660646Publication Date: 2009The focus of the encyclopedia, in terms of organizations, policies, and social issues, is on addiction in the United States and includes a timeline showing federal involvement in drug control efforts.Encyclopedia of Cybercrime by
Call Number: URI Reference HV6773 E53 2009ISBN: 9780313339745Using nontechnical explanations, this encyclopedia covers all aspects of cybercrime issues, including computer abusers, cybercriminals, and the social and economic impact of cybercrimes.- American Jurisprudence: A Modern Comprehensive Text Statement of American Law, State and Federal. byCall Number: URI Reference KF154 A42Kept up-to-date by replacement volumes and pocket supplements.
Criminal Justice by
Call Number: URI Reference KF9214.5 C75 2006ISBN: 1587652188This three-volume reference offers 625 alphabetically-arranged articles on the "six C's" at the core of the subject: criminals (who they are and what they do); codes (laws and legislation); constitutions (the foundations, including Supreme Court cases); cops (who they are and what they do); courts; and corrections.Encyclopedia of Child Abuse by
Call Number: URI Reference HV6626.5 C57 2007ISBN: 9780816066773Covers all aspects of child abuse including the causes and its impact on children and the patterns among perpetrators.Encyclopedia of Gangs by
Call Number: URI Reference HV6439 U5 E53 2008ISBN: 9780313334023Examines gangs throughout the United States covering topics such as the history of the gang, the wide range of communities where gangs form, and their increasingly complex lifestyle.Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by
Call Number: URI Reference HV6789 E43 2009ISBN: 9781412950855"Covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice."Forensic Science by
Call Number: URI Reference HV8073 F5837 2009ISBN: 9781587654237"All aspects of forensics, with entries on such topics as coroners, DNA typing, improvised explosive devices, Napoleon's death, voiceprints, and tattoo identification."
