There are several advantages to article databases, and knowing how to use the the vocabulary and access points of general and subject specific databases will help you target your search for articles and periodical information.

This page defines what databases are and provides links to the databases URI has access to.

Using Academic Search Complete offers tips for entry level searching of a general database, Academic Search Complete.

Advanced Searching presents methods for advanced searching techniques.

More About Databases explains differences between catalogs and databases, introduces subject-focused databases.

When you need to find articles, databases are an excellent place to start - they are essentially search engines for articles.

Article databases have three main advantages over search engines:

1. Databases provide direct access to articles and information about articles, without links to websites that are really intended to persuade you to purchase something or believe incomplete information.
2. Research databases can connect you to articles that your library has access to. This means you don't have to pay for access to the information.
3. Finally, electronic databases allow searching by a greater number of access points. An access point is a way to access information in a catalog or index. For example, in the URI Libraries Search, you can search by author, title, subject, call number, etc. All of these are access points. In an article database, you can search by author, title of article, subject, title of periodical, date published, and so on. This allows you to run more powerful and precise searches.

There are many general and subject specific electronic databases available to us at URI. From the URI Libraries homepage find and click on the link for "Articles & Databases" (or Find Articles). You'll come to a page that lists major areas of knowledge (Arts, Business, Health Sciences, etc.). Each link will connect to a list of databases, most of which are subject-specific and fall in a subject category, and some are general and cover all topics. Some index only scholarly journals, while others cover all types of periodicals.

Go to "All Databases by Title." Note how many databases URI has.

Important notes:

Keep in mind that URI doesn't make these databases - we buy them from companies that provide access to them for a fee. Many are quite expensive, over $10,000 per year. Most are less, about $5-6,000 per year.

Also, some databases don't contain the full text of articles. This is because they "index" articles, only telling you the articles exist. If you find information about an article but can't find the full text, look for a link that will connect you to it via your library, or ask for assistance in requesting it.

You can see all of the databases URI has access to by following the link below.

Ways to Get Research Help

Contact us at the
Research Help Desk

401-874-2653

Chat With Us
(During Research Help Desk Hours)

Click on the black arrow to open the chat in a new window.

Email Us

urilibrarian@gmail.com

(Please allow 1-2 business days for a response)