Need Help?
Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering and the Library
This is a guide to selected sources of information about electrical, computer, and biomedical engineering at URI. To locate books on electrical, biomedical, or computer engineering, go to the URI Libraries Advanced Search, select "subject" from the drop down box, and use terms like computer engineering, electrical engineering or biomedical engineering. Similar searches in Reference Databases such as Compendex (Engineering Village 2), Guide to Computing Literature (ACM) or Inspec will locate articles.
One type of resource that you should look for is a handbook; they contain practical information such as specifications, tolerances, equations, and properties of materials and thus are extremely useful. You can find handbooks simply by adding "handbook" in another search box in the URI Libraries Search.
- URI Libraries Search
This link opens in a new window
Locate books, videos, online resources and more available through the URI Libraries. - URI Libraries Search (Advanced Search)
- This link opens in a new window
Advanced search mode in the URI Libraries Search. Helpful when using advanced search techniques such as title, author, or subject searching.
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Citations to articles in professional magazines, scholarly journals, and conference proceedings in engineering. 1884 - Present. Updated weekly.
- What else should I know? Links to articles open in a pop-up window, so you will need to deactivate the pop-up blocker on your browser to connect to full text.
- Guide to Computing Literature (ACM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? A collection of of more than 750,000 citations and abstracts from 3,000+ publishers, including works published by ACM and other publishers. Coverage includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and technical support. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- What’s included? Abstracts and indexing to the world’s scientific and technical literature. Provides coverage from over 3,400 journals, 2,000 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports in the subject areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, and production, mechanical engineering, and more.
- What dates are covered? 1898 - Present.
- What else should I know? This database is produced by the IET.
Department Publications
These are the latest publications from faculty members in this department.
Created and Updated
Created by A. Witt, 04/12.
Updated by Alexa Roy, 09/12.